Award Winning Chili Con Carne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was so good that I am going to make some more and enter it a chili cook off at work. I did add some cumin though because I am a big fan. I also made it with fresh tomatoes from the garden instead of canned. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I'm giving this a full five stars, it was that good. Added 2 small very finely chopped carrots and celery sticks (as long as they are very finely chopped it's an amazing addition) and now and again I add a bit of squash. Also add a can of corn to the mix, bay leaf and cumin. Left out the flour etc, just boiled a bit more to evaporate extra moisture. Really really good. Excellent recipe thanks! A firm favourite in this house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
We were very happy with this recipe. We finally found a chili recipe worth keeping. Even when I don't follow it exactly it still works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Best chili recipe ever! it's hearty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I made this a few days ago and I made it with chicken instead. I substituted the beef cubes and beef with chicken cubes and chicken. I used a red pepper cause I don't like green pepper. Instead of the parsley I used 1/2 tsp of thyme. I substituted the Tabasco for 1/2 chipotle and 1/2 cumin. And instead of all the thickening agents, I put in 1/2 cup low-fat yoghurt. It was extremely good and my partner really loved it. He said it was the best chili I ever made. Try my version out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
We loved it! Added 1/2 tsp cumin, 3/4 tsp corriander, 3/4 tsp cinnamon, 1 can of rotel, and 1 can of southwestern corn and peppers. I did not use the Tabasco sauce, flour or corn meal and the thickeness was just perfect for our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
We used this recipe at a local chili cook off yesterday and took 1st place! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Excellent chili. I added hot italian sausage just to give it some extra substance and jolt. This is now a mainstay recipe for our household. Serve it with some corn chips, a dollop of full fat sour cream and some grated cheddar. Now that's a meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Best Chili ever!! I used ground turkey versus beef, so I increased some of the spices to add more flavor. Just perfect. I served it with pan fried corn bread, which was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great recipe! we loved it. We also added at the end some grated cheese and it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States