Award Winning Chili Con Carne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday with such high expectation after reading all the reviews. It wasn't bad; it just wasn't good. It was very tomato-ey, almost like a tomato stew instead of chili. Maybe I'm used to Texas Chili, but I thought I would branch out even though I don't even have a good Texas Chili recipe. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes, and 1 6-oz can of tomato paste (instead of the 12-oz called for in the recipe). I don't think I'll make it again, but if I do, I probably leave out the tomato paste altogether and just add in at the end if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is by far the best chili recipe I've ever tried. I threw out all the rest. Yesterday I made it for the fifth time, and (of course) today it was even better. Some tweaks: I use pure ancho chili powder, not a commercial chili blend or mix. I double (or triple) the onions. I use cubes of chuck steak that I cut myself. I double the tomato paste and don't have to thicken the chili at the end. If you have this recipe, you don't need any others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is the best Chili I have ever eaten! I only left aside the green bell pepper and dried oregano as I didn't have any at hands but it still turned out great! I made a part with rice instead of beans for the kids and my whole family found it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Never tasted any thing so boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Fan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
fantastic , easy and very good , i put more beans so i din t have rice on the side ans i add some cinnamon it add a certain perfum to it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Great Chili! I didn't have red wine or onion, so I substituted it with some worcestershire sauce andpaprika when browning the meat. Also I only had red and yellow bell peppers, so I threw both of them in. I also tossed in some fresh parsley, ground cumin, lots of black pepper and eliminated the flour and cornmeal (also the water). I couldn't wait for the simmering, so I cooked it uncovered in med. heat for 30 mins. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
if there were 10 stars i would give it all 10. this recipe is the only reason i keep coming back to this website. the chili is a family favorite. i do however add more hot sauce, only because we all like to be in tears while eating it. love this recipe. very easy to make. i cant say enough good things about it. thank you whoever came up with this recipe my football sundays have never been the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Really nice! I used half ground beef half ground pork so 2 bouillon cubes turned out a little much in my case, but apart from that it was great. Worth all the prep time and I could freeze some portions for evenings with less time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Great, but heavy. Add some corn and serve over rice, with a big salad on the side, and your intestines will thank you! Otherwise fantastic flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday. I left out the flour and put extra cornmeal in place of it I also used 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 ground beef. It is a very thick chili. I will be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States