Award Winning Chili Con Carne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times now, and it's always amazing. I too use red and yellow bell peppers instead of the green ones. And, I don't thicken it up with the cornmeal - it's always plenty thick. I usually just dump diced tomatoes in there along with their juice. I use fresh basil and fresh parsley (the amount of dried parsley looks suspect, but since I use fresh I've never had a problem). Otherwise, I follow the recipe as written. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Not the chili I'm used to. Taste more like a hamburger helper type product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
As someone who likes spicy chili, I was quite disappointed :( I had to add way more chili powder and tabasco to get some more flavour. Without it, the chili was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used some jus I had left instead of the cubes but that's nitpicking. this recipe is on time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very flavorful. This is chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I made this for the first time the other night. It was so good. Added 2 small very finely chopped carrots and celery sticks (as long as they are very finely chopped it's an amazing addition) and now and again I add a bit of squash. Also add a can of corn to the mix, bay leaf and cumin. Left out the flour etc, just boiled a bit more to evaporate extra moisture. Really good this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this instead of my own chili recipe, and I have to say that this is truly a dish that does not taste like any chili I have ever eaten! My husband asked me to "never" make this again! He said I need to stick to my own recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Best chili I ever made! Everyone loved it at the chili party I brought it to! (In fact it was the first chili that had an empty crock pot) Followed the recipe almost true. Added a spicy sausage and cinnamon for a sweetness that I like my chili to have. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I doubled this recipe for family gathering yesterday and everyone loved it! Will definitely make it again. I omitted the tomato paste and used the flour, cornmeal, water to thicken. I used more cayenne pepper, adding as it cooked. After bringing all to a boil, I simmered it for 7 hrs, stirring every so often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday with such high expectation after reading all the reviews. It wasn't bad; it just wasn't good. It was very tomato-ey, almost like a tomato stew instead of chili. Maybe I'm used to Texas Chili, but I thought I would branch out even though I don't even have a good Texas Chili recipe. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes, and 1 6-oz can of tomato paste (instead of the 12-oz called for in the recipe). I don't think I'll make it again, but if I do, I probably leave out the tomato paste altogether and just add in at the end if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States