Avon's End of Summer Sunday Morning Peach Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
What a wonderful cake! So wonderfully moist and fluffy. I used ground almonds instead of pecans because that's what I had on hand. So I used a little almond extract in the cake as well, delish! And I added an extra peach. After three days, it was still wonderfully moist and fluffy, and even tasted better the next day! I think if anyone's cake turned out dry they must have over baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I've made this several times but have always used white flour & vanilla yogurt. We absolutely LOVE this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe was amazing! I used molasses instead of syrup and went with the muffins! The smell and taste was incredible! The recipe was easy to follow and easy to make. I also used instant oatmeal and let it sit for a few minutes to soak up. Thank you for this recipe!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Avon, this recipe is perfection. Light, flavorful, moist, and has lots of added nutrition (I love the interest and light crunch the steel cut oats add). I'm impressed. I only just found your recipe today and it's right up my alley, so I wasted no time in getting into the kitchen with it. I remembered too late that I didn't have my small baking pan, so made it into muffins instead. It filled 13 cups perfectly, and I baked them at the suggested temperature for 25 minutes. I thought I had better halve the crumb topping for the muffins, but it's so good, I will be sure to make it a cake next time to enjoy fully that wonderful topping. Thanks so much for developing and sharing this recipe. Just be sure and let me know about the next one, please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Delicious! My peaches were disappointing, but this coffee cake wasnt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
AVON! THANK YOU FOR CREATING THIS DIVINE DISH! Please forgive me.:):) I would give it 10 stars but alas, I made some changes. That's the Only reason I knocked off 1 star. I was out of brown sugar so I used Piloncillo cones, raw sugar, instead. ( This is found in the Mexican markets and looks like brown cones, hence the name) I added a squirt of maple syrup. I chopped up about 1 tbs of crystallized ginger. There was apples and nectarines in the fridge, chopped and tossed those in too. I had no yogurt so I mixed some apple cider vinegar and milk to make buttermilk. This created a nice tang to the cake. I was taking this to school so no nuts, you never know. Baked it in a bunt pan and brushed the whole thing with Grand Marne. I mixed up some SF vanilla pudding to top the cake, a few sprinkles and the Lunch ladies didn't stand a chance! Nice and spicy. Perfect way to start off the school year! This ROCKS ANNIE! Thanks again:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe. I made muffins instead of a cake and it only took 35 minutes at the same temp. I didn't have quite enough melted butter so I added canola oil to make up the rest of the 1/4 cup called for. I added an additional ripe banana and also substituted store bought vanilla whipped frosting since it was in my cupboard. A slice of fresh peach on each one made it even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXYPAULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this just as the recipe said and my husband and I found it a bit dry, and very heavy. It lacked peach flavour, but we did like the idea of the steel cut oats in the cake. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
made this yesterday, had company for supper so I wowed them-somthing new was needed. No pressure put on Avon at all. I whipped this together, the smell as it baked was heavenly. I had the windows open and everyone entered the house asking "what smells soooo good?" The peach cake was fabulous, served it with ice cream. So good! Great texture and with the steal cut oats and WW flour, it felt healthy to me:) Great recipe, Avon. Original review, August 2010
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made Avon's recipe before AR published it. I used what I had in the house, Aunt Jemima Lite Syrup and Light Fat Free Peach Yogurt. The steel cut oatmeal soaked for 30 minutes by the time I got myself organized. Great recipe Avon, glad it finally got published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States