Avocado and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
We like this recipe. We used our favorite bottled dressing instead of putting our own together. We added the avocados last because of the other reviews, it was a smart thing to do. They get a little creamy when stirring and discolor the rest of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle320

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was really yummy! My husband was apprehensive but after he taste it he ate all that I made. He like it so much, I had to make it again the next day for an appetizer. A+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is SUCH a delicious and easy recipe. I recently brought it to a "salad" putluck with a few modifications: i added bacon and shredded mozzarella and i used a red wine vinaigrette. Also, it's important that you use *good* tomatoes, you know, that are actually red and have flavor. i had friends call me months later for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nik

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Have made this several times, but cut it down to one large tomato and one avacado for just the two of us. For the onion I use a small red onion cut in half circumferencialy then julienned and about 1/3 cup of balsamic vinegarette dressing. Absolutely fantastic. Wife loves it. She is a salad type person and wants this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was a big hit when I served it as a last minute sidedish with eggs benedict (we have them for dinner occasionally); was a perfect companion dish to offset the richness of the hollandaise sauce. Not the prettiest salad perhaps, but quick, easy and,most importantly, very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L LS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Don't include the tomato juice, makes the salad too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Simple and yummy! You know your taste. Add as much red onion and dressing as you like. Definitely make this salad right when you are about to sit down to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I have made a salad for two by using 1 avocado and 1 big tomato chopped and served on hearts of romaine lettuce. I have added two caps(about two or three tablespoons) of Newman's own light balsamic vinaigrette. It was very tasty! The salad did not look brown and the avos stayed green while it was cooling in the fridge. I noticed with other recipes that the salad dressing can really make a difference on how your salads taste, and I have always had good results with Newman's own dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very refreshing! I added some diced fresh Mozzarella and let it all marinade for about 4 hrs..Excellent. I served it with this sites Salsa Chicked recipe and it was a great compliment to the main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
So simple and yummy. For those who are turned off by the "brownish" color, try white balsamic vinegar. I agree that 8oz is too much dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States