Avocado and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This was good. I didn't measure the dressing, just poured a little bit on. I was making it for just my husband and myself, so I used one tomato and one avocado, and probably used 1-2 TBS of dressing total. Good fresh flavors. There are some leftovers, which I'm sure are pretty mushy by now, but they'll probably be good served with tortilla chips! We had it yesterday with a barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I wish I could have rated this a 3.5 due to the amount of dressing stated. Common sense will tell you not to use it all. I made my own dressing using white balsamic in order not to hide the beautiful red, purple and green colors. Other than that, this was a wonderful and delicious salad Mica. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I'm giving this only 4 stars for the sole reason of the way it looks. This is extra simple to make, it looks beautiful till you put the dressing on. Then it looks brown. I will try my best to make a different dressing.. or even serve the dressing on the side. I used A LOT less than a full cup of vinegar and there was still a ton pooled at the bottom of the bowl. it was good though and I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Tasty. I didn't think the salad dressing was too much, but home-made would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kadiköy, Istanbul, Turkey
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Delicious and so easy to make! Even if you don't like avocado, it's great! I think some of the previous reviewers were confused - I used 1 cup of salad dressing, like it calls for - and it was the perfect amount. Not too soupy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I've been making this recipe for a couple of years now. After the first time, I decided to substitute red creamer potatoes for the onion, and it's delicious. Everyone always loves it. I don't think I've ever used a whole bottle of dressing for it--I just do it to taste. I also don't have a specific amount for the potatoes--I would say a pound or two, cut in quarters...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This was awesome! I also added yellow bell pepper and diced all of the veggies. We ate this on top of angel hair pasta and it was divine. Pretty colors, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I liked the flavor but it was way too soupy. I reduced the recipe down to four servings but the ingredients were floating in the balsamic vinegarette. I should have just eyeballed it. Make sure your avocados are firm and not too ripe, you will end up with mush otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Very nice, although there is no way on earth you need to use an entire 8oz bottle of dressing! I wish I hadn't refrigerated it so long though - it lost some flavor. I will make this again but will add some shredded purple cabbage, some sliced yellow and orange bell peppers, and some fresh snipped chives. Very colorful and flavorsome. Thanks, Mica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Wonderful summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States