Avocado and Edamame Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
OK..this is my first review and I'll be the first to review this. Loved it! Very healthy and tasty. I experimented @ a family gathering and got great reviews. My husband wanted to keep it all for himself and asked me to make it again. Sister-in-law suggested an additional avocado...may try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Okay, so I decided to try this out to step away from the normal guac and it turned out really well. I modded the recipe a little to work with what I had in my kitchen. I subbed a stalk of chives for the cilantro, a lime for a lemon and chicken stock for olive oil. I also decided to sweeten the onions up by sautéing them in the last drops of my olive oil. And I used two avocados that were medium sized. So the recipe may have been changed around a good bit but the heart of it was the same. The guac/dip/spread had a great nutty flavor while still allowing the richness of the avocado to play with the citrus and spices present. And just to backup the validity of this seemingly odd recipe, two of my hispanic friends who have grown up with and enjoy authentic guacamole LOVED it. Make this the next time you're looking for a little change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Pretty good recipe the edamame was hardly distinguishable. My onion may have been extra hot but to me that flavor was a bit too strong. I like the idea of adding an extra avacado and if I make this again I think that's just what I'll do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe! Followed it to the letter and it is definetly double dip worthy. Has a lot of health ingredients, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
stick to the recipe, its perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Easy to make and tastes fantastic -- everyone thought it was guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Yum.. I had this with some pita crisps, jicama and carrots.. tasty. I think I liked it with pita crisps the best. I left out the oil because I felt there was enough fat in the avocado.. was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this except for the cilantro because I was out of that, and it was delicious. I look forward to making it again with the cilantro as that is a favorite of mine. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGTMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hebron, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
didn't like this :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I thought this dip was amazing! I removed the olive oil and added a little extra avocado. I also used have lemon and half lime juice for extra zest. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States