Avocado and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Didn't care for the taste of this. It tasted like watered down guacamole and the hot sauce added a weird taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This seems like a good base recipe for summer but was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Pretty good. Make in batches if you're using a food pro and i suggest vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. Tasted very green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is great served chilled, or hot! Made this for a mexican themed supper, and was very good as a starter to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwistyMcSpliffit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I thought the basis for this soup was a great idea. I read all the reviews and made some changes. I added 2 jalapenos, extra hot sauce and cilantro. It tasted just like a sour creamy gucamole. I was disappointed. The avacado was so overpowering you really couldn't taste much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I did not care for this even though I love all of the ingredients listed. I made it exactly per the recipe and I felt like I was eating liquified quacamole. After eating several bites I tried to spice it up with more hot sauce, cilantro and lime but...it just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I added two jalapenos to add that touch of heat at the back of your throat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Basically i couldnt resist making this into guacamole - I doubled the cilantro, added some heavy cream and garlic salt as was suggested earlier, but when it cam to adding the stock I stopped at ~2 cups- i shouldnt have even added this much. It compromised the creaminess and avocado flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
It was good... but I think next time I will make it without the tequila.. had kind of an odd after taste with it. Probably would be a good idea to taste it before you add tequila... and if it is good.. leave it alone! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States