Avocado and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was delicious and full of flavor, but I did make a few changes. Instead of shallot, I used a clove of garlic; subbed sun-dried tomatoes for tomato paste; used veg broth; tripled the cilantro; and added half of a dried chipotle. I also didn't bother with the sour cream. It was pretty thick, so I added veg broth till I got the right consistency. The tequila was very subtle, but it definitely added flavor. This was so easy to make--a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwistyMcSpliffit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Really delicious during the most recent heat wave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Very good - but I don't use hot sauce or tequila. Otherwse just as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam R-H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is terrific. Take the other reviewers' advice and go easy on the broth and maybe heavier on the spices and cilantro. I also squeezed a full lime into the broth instead of using lime or lemon juice. Wait patiently while it chills in the fridge. It works better cold and not at room temperature. The result is very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory McCann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
YUMMMM....the pool party grew in numbers....this soup turned into a dip with chips.....everyone loved it! after I mixed it together and tasted I wasnt real sure of the flavor....2hrs in the refrig....MAGIC.....delissssssssh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I added two jalapenos to add that touch of heat at the back of your throat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was pretty good and refreshing. My husband made it last night. He made a few changes: only used 2 cups of chicken broth (reduced sodium, which was plenty salty), no tomato paste, juice of a whole lime, no tequila, 1/4 c of chopped cilantro. It was a nice thing to "blend" on a hot day. The next time, I would use 3 cups of chicken broth as when we reduced it, it was too thick (and I didn't count this against the recipe when I rated it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is great served chilled, or hot! Made this for a mexican themed supper, and was very good as a starter to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Pretty good. Make in batches if you're using a food pro and i suggest vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. Tasted very green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States