Avocado and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was delicious and full of flavor, but I did make a few changes. Instead of shallot, I used a clove of garlic; subbed sun-dried tomatoes for tomato paste; used veg broth; tripled the cilantro; and added half of a dried chipotle. I also didn't bother with the sour cream. It was pretty thick, so I added veg broth till I got the right consistency. The tequila was very subtle, but it definitely added flavor. This was so easy to make--a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Avocado soup is one of my favorite summer time treats but this recipe did not impress me. I found it rather bland. I think its a good starter recipe to build from. To make it how I like I doubled the cilantro and added it to straight to the soup and blended, once it sits for a while it adds a nice spring time flavor. I also added about a 1/4 cup heavy cream, garlic salt instead of regular and about 2 TBS lemon juice. Making these additions saved the soup. I will use this as my base recipe and keep playing around with it. Next time I may try adding some cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I made this soup with some overripe avocados and fat free yogurt instead of sour cream and it turned out superb.It has a very creamy and light texture and tastes great.Its very decadent and looks like a lot of work. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is terrific. Take the other reviewers' advice and go easy on the broth and maybe heavier on the spices and cilantro. I also squeezed a full lime into the broth instead of using lime or lemon juice. Wait patiently while it chills in the fridge. It works better cold and not at room temperature. The result is very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory McCann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Didn't care for the taste of this. It tasted like watered down guacamole and the hot sauce added a weird taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I did not care for this even though I love all of the ingredients listed. I made it exactly per the recipe and I felt like I was eating liquified quacamole. After eating several bites I tried to spice it up with more hot sauce, cilantro and lime but...it just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Basically i couldnt resist making this into guacamole - I doubled the cilantro, added some heavy cream and garlic salt as was suggested earlier, but when it cam to adding the stock I stopped at ~2 cups- i shouldnt have even added this much. It compromised the creaminess and avocado flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
made it as described except I couldn't find shallots so I put in spring onions. it's very tasty and smooth. perfect for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This seems like a good base recipe for summer but was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Pretty good. Make in batches if you're using a food pro and i suggest vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. Tasted very green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States