Avocado and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
YUMMMM....the pool party grew in numbers....this soup turned into a dip with chips.....everyone loved it! after I mixed it together and tasted I wasnt real sure of the flavor....2hrs in the refrig....MAGIC.....delissssssssh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was pretty good and refreshing. My husband made it last night. He made a few changes: only used 2 cups of chicken broth (reduced sodium, which was plenty salty), no tomato paste, juice of a whole lime, no tequila, 1/4 c of chopped cilantro. It was a nice thing to "blend" on a hot day. The next time, I would use 3 cups of chicken broth as when we reduced it, it was too thick (and I didn't count this against the recipe when I rated it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
So I didn't love this soup recipe, but I thought it might make a good base with some changes. I played around with the recipe a bit and found what was perfect for me. I used 2 avocados, left out the tomato paste, added the juice of an entire lime, used 1 tsp of tropical habanero hot sauce, added 3/4 of a shallot, and used 2 tbsp of tequila, 3/4 cup chicken broth, 3 tbsp of fresh cilantro, garlic salt, white pepper and a dash of nutmeg. I also replaced the sour cream with 1/4 cup of heavy cream and let it chill overnight. It was the most phenomenal avocado soup I have ever had!! Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is terrific. Take the other reviewers' advice and go easy on the broth and maybe heavier on the spices and cilantro. I also squeezed a full lime into the broth instead of using lime or lemon juice. Wait patiently while it chills in the fridge. It works better cold and not at room temperature. The result is very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory McCann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I made this soup with some overripe avocados and fat free yogurt instead of sour cream and it turned out superb.It has a very creamy and light texture and tastes great.Its very decadent and looks like a lot of work. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
The soup was very good; but I increased the spices and used one half of a small red onion. The only trouble I had was that when I poured the broth into the food processor, it leaked out because I had not yet processed anything. I then used the processor to mix the avocado and everything else with a small amount of broth and poured the mixture into the blender and added the rest of the chicken broth. P.S. I found that 3.5 cups of broth likely would have made it too thin (I guess it was fortunate that some of the broth leaked out) and would advise using one can of broth and then figuring out how much more broth to add to a consistency that is pleasing. Over all--very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I love avocados and cilantro, so I figured this would be a good soup to try. I'm not sure what I did wrong though, because it came out tasting very salty! I don't add salt to taste on my food, so I'm not sure how it happened. Oh well, it was a good way for me to use up avocados that I needed to get rid of, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was delicious and full of flavor, but I did make a few changes. Instead of shallot, I used a clove of garlic; subbed sun-dried tomatoes for tomato paste; used veg broth; tripled the cilantro; and added half of a dried chipotle. I also didn't bother with the sour cream. It was pretty thick, so I added veg broth till I got the right consistency. The tequila was very subtle, but it definitely added flavor. This was so easy to make--a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was great! I served it with corn chips because I couldn't imagine eating a full serving without anything to compliment it. It did have a nice flavor and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Applegate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Avocado soup is one of my favorite summer time treats but this recipe did not impress me. I found it rather bland. I think its a good starter recipe to build from. To make it how I like I doubled the cilantro and added it to straight to the soup and blended, once it sits for a while it adds a nice spring time flavor. I also added about a 1/4 cup heavy cream, garlic salt instead of regular and about 2 TBS lemon juice. Making these additions saved the soup. I will use this as my base recipe and keep playing around with it. Next time I may try adding some cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States