Avocado and Black Eyed Pea Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I could not stop eating this - it was SO good! Left out the green onions due to personal taste and cut the amount of oil to make it a little healthier. I've never heard of "shoepeg" corn before and I found it with the other regular canned corn. I think using regular yellow corn would change the taste so find shoepeg if possible! This might be my new "go-to" party appetizer. LOVED it!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was very good. I couldn't find black eyed peas, so I substituted black beans. I'll definitely make it again, but next time I'll spice it up with with some jalapenos or chili peppers to add some heat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by choochootwo
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very healthy and delicious. Loaded with fiber and protein, but tastes wonderful. I did not have the required vinegar, so I used white wine and a little bit of white vinegar. I also doubled the spices because I'm a spice nut. Cut down Olive Oil by a little more than half. The recipe didn't need to be changed, I just did to acclimate it to our dietary needs. Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ktkat28
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was really good - I usually hate black eyed peas, but we've always had to eat them on NY so this year I found a way to make them go down easier! I couldn't find shoepeg corn, so I just used regular and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ktkat28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I substituted basil for the cilantro, cutting it down to 1/4 cup due to personal preference. You can't understand how good this was unless you could see how distended my belly is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made according to recipe. Was very good. We had it as a salad for New years, and then used the leftovers as a salsa on some tacos. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
No complaints about this one...Absolutely delicious! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Quick and easy and delicious! I served with blue corn chips. The leftovers were even better, so let it sit as long as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great in summer, spring, fall, and winter! We will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is delicious! It was so easy to make and tastes really fresh and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States