Avocado and Black Eyed Pea Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ktkat28
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was really good - I usually hate black eyed peas, but we've always had to eat them on NY so this year I found a way to make them go down easier! I couldn't find shoepeg corn, so I just used regular and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ktkat28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by choochootwo
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very healthy and delicious. Loaded with fiber and protein, but tastes wonderful. I did not have the required vinegar, so I used white wine and a little bit of white vinegar. I also doubled the spices because I'm a spice nut. Cut down Olive Oil by a little more than half. The recipe didn't need to be changed, I just did to acclimate it to our dietary needs. Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was very good. I couldn't find black eyed peas, so I substituted black beans. I'll definitely make it again, but next time I'll spice it up with with some jalapenos or chili peppers to add some heat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Left out cilantro b/c I don't like it & used chili powder b/c I didn't have cumin. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I could not stop eating this - it was SO good! Left out the green onions due to personal taste and cut the amount of oil to make it a little healthier. I've never heard of "shoepeg" corn before and I found it with the other regular canned corn. I think using regular yellow corn would change the taste so find shoepeg if possible! This might be my new "go-to" party appetizer. LOVED it!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe just as written! I made this on New Year's Day to get my lucky peas. Making this almost 2x a week now in summer for gatherings! So great with multingrain chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
YUMMY!!!!! So healthy! Thank you so much for this recipe, I will be making it again and again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catherine white

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is an amazing, flavorful, delicious dish, and after the first couple of bites, I discarded my chips and dug in with a fork. SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
my husband devoured this with chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Have made this twice now and everyone just raves about it. Its great with steak as a side dish at a BBQ and with homemade chips as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States