Avocado Watermelon Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Update: I DID put some feta into this salad and was glad I did. I think I need to use less dressing. I want the flavor of the dressing, but only just. Really, the rest of the ingredients are nearly enough... This gets five from me for sheer brilliance. We made this because everything in it is a favorite food item, though we'd never have thought to throw them all together. Once we did, we weren't sure how good it would be, but we were very, very pleased and can't wait to make it again. Though, next time, I'm determined to crumble some feta cheese over it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This salad was delicious -- wonderfully refreshing and an unexpected combination. A definite keeper. It was delightful to eat it tonight with a simple grilled steak. Here's how I made it quick and easy: I bought de-seeded and cut watermelon pieces from our supermarket and also fresh spinach that the market had washed and trimmed for consumption. Proportions of these are not critical: I estimated the proportions of the ingredients to reduce the recipe to serve the two of us well. For the avocado, I used half of a perfectly ripe Hass avocado. Here's how I glorified it: Instead of using bottled dressing, I made a balsamic dressing of olive oil and balsamic vinegar for this salad, again by estimating proportions. I added some honey and salt and pepper to taste and...some fennel seed -- all of this this whirred in the food processor for a couple of minutes until completely smooth and emulsified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I thought this salad was O.K. but my husband did not like it. You have to REALLY like advocado and watermelon to make this work. The balsamic gives the watermelon an usual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAXMSF
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
this recipe rocks, if I do say so myself (again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
My dinner party loved this salad. Like everyone else, I made a raspberry vinagarette and it was wonderful. I used less than half of the dressing, which was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I had just read an article about the amazing health benefits of watermelon (lycopene), but the doctor said to maximize the benefits of it, it should be paired with spinach & avocado, but he doubted that would be too appetizing. I'm thrilled to find this combination works!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
An interesting combination I never would have thought of, but it's quite good! I used a sweeter dressing - a raspberry vinagerette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
My 14 year old daughter made this for a school project on healthy eating. No one in my family thought we would like it. We all loved it! It was very crisp and refreshing. Great on a hot day. Would cut down on the dressing a little bit. Thanks for a great new experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I thought this recipe was delicious. It does, however, need a little crunch. Next time I might add either a little chopped red onion or a few chopped walnuts to it. Overall, very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this for our Father's Day Luncheon. What a hit! Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. Even the little kids liked it. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rm2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States