Avocado Watermelon Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MAXMSF
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
this recipe rocks, if I do say so myself (again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I thought this salad was O.K. but my husband did not like it. You have to REALLY like advocado and watermelon to make this work. The balsamic gives the watermelon an usual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
An interesting combination I never would have thought of, but it's quite good! I used a sweeter dressing - a raspberry vinagerette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was pretty good, and I'll make it again. I'm not sure about the balsamic vinaigrette, though... next time I'll try a rasberry vinaigrette as another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
My dinner party loved this salad. Like everyone else, I made a raspberry vinagarette and it was wonderful. I used less than half of the dressing, which was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
My 14 year old daughter made this for a school project on healthy eating. No one in my family thought we would like it. We all loved it! It was very crisp and refreshing. Great on a hot day. Would cut down on the dressing a little bit. Thanks for a great new experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This salad was delicious -- wonderfully refreshing and an unexpected combination. A definite keeper. It was delightful to eat it tonight with a simple grilled steak. Here's how I made it quick and easy: I bought de-seeded and cut watermelon pieces from our supermarket and also fresh spinach that the market had washed and trimmed for consumption. Proportions of these are not critical: I estimated the proportions of the ingredients to reduce the recipe to serve the two of us well. For the avocado, I used half of a perfectly ripe Hass avocado. Here's how I glorified it: Instead of using bottled dressing, I made a balsamic dressing of olive oil and balsamic vinegar for this salad, again by estimating proportions. I added some honey and salt and pepper to taste and...some fennel seed -- all of this this whirred in the food processor for a couple of minutes until completely smooth and emulsified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Update: I DID put some feta into this salad and was glad I did. I think I need to use less dressing. I want the flavor of the dressing, but only just. Really, the rest of the ingredients are nearly enough... This gets five from me for sheer brilliance. We made this because everything in it is a favorite food item, though we'd never have thought to throw them all together. Once we did, we weren't sure how good it would be, but we were very, very pleased and can't wait to make it again. Though, next time, I'm determined to crumble some feta cheese over it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Delicious! Absolutely delicious. I was weirded out by the combination and thought it was either going to be brilliant or disgusting - I was so pleased to have it turn out brilliant. I want to try gorgonzola or bleu cheese crumbled over the top. I think it needs the bite of a stinkier cheese than feta. It's fantastic for summer and makes an excellent companion to grilled steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I really enjoy the flavours in this salad, although I find there's too much avocado. I use only one avocado when I make this salad. Very tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teddi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States