Avocado Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I've made this a couple of times with the following changes - 1C Greek Yogurt, 1/2C Cilantro & 1/4C Mint. Instead of Red Pepper flakes, I've used Cayenne, but more recently tried a Jalapeno pepper (seeded) and that was the recipe I'll forever use. Everything goes into the blender. SO GOOD ON EVERYTHING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I love regular Tzatziki and I guess I should have read the recipe before making it to see that there was no yogurt. It was ok but tasted more like guacamole than tzatziki. Next time I will go with my regular tzatziki recipe and add some avocado into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Great twist on guacamole! We served it with toasted whole wheat pitas and Greek Penne and Chicken (also from this site.) Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcandleslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Don't omit the sour cream. Use lime juice instead of lemon. Up the amount of garlic. Keep an eye on it while it's refridgerating (mine started to discolor surprisingly quickly). I agree, this is a great dip, but can also be used to complement Mexican and Middle Eastern dishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I don't know what tzatziki sauce is supposed to taste like, but this recipe made an excellent salad dressing! I just threw everything together and blended it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Yum Yum Yum! I was delightfully impressed by this, made a nice sauce for my falafel sandwich! The flavor was just right, I added a little dill weed at the end, only for personal preference! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This was excellent! Only change was to use Greek yogurt instead of sour cream - I think I would have liked it even better with sour cream, or maybe a combination of the two. I love guacamole, but this is a great change of pace! I used it on veggie burgers, but I can think of hundreds of ways to use this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
very tasty, I didn't have the cucumber so I made it without. Was thicker than would have been with the cucumber, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I was all set out to make a regular tzatziki sauce, but realized I had an avocado that needed to be used today before going bad. I did an ingredient search and found this recipe. I used Greek Yogurt since I had no sour cream, and it taste great. I sort of eyeballed the ingredients. My avocado wasn't very big and so the flavor isn't overwhelming. I'm eating as veggie dip right now. Pretzels are pretty good with it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Delicious!!! I found myself enjoying this with pretzels...? Great with hummus too. I used some dried mint instead of fresh, and I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States