Avocado, Tomato and Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
oh my! This has got to be one of the best recipes I have ever tried on here. To begin with, the vibrant colors of red, purple, fleshy orange, and green makes one want to dive right in. The only changes I made were to double the red onion to half cup, and only used 2 tbsp. of EVOO, and added 2 seeded jalepenos. The blend of flavors was magnificant. To bite into that creaminess of the avocado, the bite of the pepper, the sweetness of the mango, and of course garlic and cilantro was to die for. You will want to double this if you take it to a party because I made it just for my husband and myself to go with "Sizzling Chicken Fajitas" from this site, and I probably ate half of it on chips before the dinner was prepared. I did use 4 roma tomatoes as stated in the recipe and it was perfect. Just squeeze out the tomatoes before putting in so that it won't be soupy. This would be a great salad by itself if cut into bigger pieces instead of dicing for salsa. If one is not a big garlic lover, I would cut down on the garlic. I am a garlicholic and so for me, it sent me to heaven! This takes salsa to a new level...absolutely a cut above the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This salsa will have you eating it with a spoon! It is soooo good. It is best to make it the day you are going to use it because the avocado can get a little squishy after a day or two. I would recommend making a triple recipe...I do and I still run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProLifeGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I added a can of black beans and about 1/2 cup of frozen corn.....everyone loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I just had a party in my mouth! I made this on a whim, basically to use up odds and ends in the fridge that oddly enough were what was called for in this recipe. I've never had this kind of salsa before so didn't know what to expect. Man is this good! Slightly sweet, slightly savory, slightly spicy with an explosion of flavor from the garlic, jalapeno and cilantro - and the creamy, mellow avocado brings it all together and balances it out. After "sampling" a good portion of it, Hubs remarked that he didn't think he was going to like this but found it "strangely addictive." I backed off on the cilantro by maybe half and that worked out well for us. Other than that I followed the recipe and liked it just fine. This is so colorful and festive it just beckons you to come and try it. It tastes so good it makes you go back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This was a very good salsa recipe. We followed the recipe and it was a great way to use up some of the tomato crop from the garden. Next time I would make sure to squeeze out more seeds from the tomatoes because a lot of liquid piled in the bottom of my salsa bowl. Both my husband and I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Great recipe! You might want to consider adding extra mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This salsa is awesome! I have brought it to two parties and it has been a huge hit at both. I doubled the recipe both times and it still went really fast...I highly recommend trying it out, you won't be dissapointed! I also left out the jalapeno because I didn't have any, but I didn't miss it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
New addition for our Thanksgiving dinner! Fresh, light, and absolutely fabulous. I will be looking for your recipes. Thank you fhiveshot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
delicious! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was gone in no time! Everyone loved it and requested the recipe. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States