Avocado Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I loved this recipe, even my strictly carnivorous boyfriend enjoyed it. I brush the outside of the tortillas with a olive oil-lime juice mixture before throwing them in the oven and left them there for a little longer than the recipe called for. I garnished the tacos with some pico de gallo, chili peppers and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This is a good idea, but it's a little boring as is. It's not much more than guacamole in a tortilla. I love avocados and eat them plain all the time, but if they're in a taco, I'd like to have other ingredients, such as tomato, lettuce, and maybe some black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I thought this recipe was bland, but fun to play with. I added some shredded cheese to the tortillas and then warmed them. I added some chopped onion and tomato, and lemon juice to the avacado mixture. I also serve them with mexican rice. my hubby, and 16 month old love them, and so do I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
While everyone else was eating their beef tacos, I was thoroughly enjoying the avacado version. I'm addicted to avacados and thought these were terrific. I used green onions, a can of mild green chiles and topped it with shredded cheddar. Delicious and thanks Karyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This recipe is so light and perfect for a warm summer night. I would definitely make sure to use the jalapeno pepper sauce, it brings out all of the flavors wonderfully, but without it, the dish is very plain. However, I gave this 4 stars(which it really was a border line 3-4, but since i personally liked it, i bumped it up to 4)because my family wasn't very impressed. My husband felt that there was something missing, and didn't think that guacamole smeared on top of corn tortillas with a little sauce, was a gerat meal idea. I could definatley see his point. Although I had no qualms making a meal of it, my girls hardly touched it. I really can't see myself making an entree out of this dish either, mainly because I think the key to this dish being successful is completely reliant on who you're serving it to. If you love avacado and are perfectly happy with a simple, light dish, than I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
My husband and I love these tacos! I had some plain, with just the avocado mixture and I had some with stir-fry steak strips, just 2-3 strips per taco, and less than 1/2 pound if steak altogether. I also added more like 1/2 cup of onion. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This recipe seemed a little bland. I added chopped tomato, olives, and green chiles. It came out really good. My daughter & mom enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
all things considered, with modification, this could be much better. sorry - i just wasn't impressed, and as a vegetarian married to a carnivore, i'm always on the lookout for things i can make for myself when i cook up tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Oh yum. I LOVE avocados! This was perfect for my vegian taco fiesta tonight. I have a house full of kids & hubbys out bowling, so we went to town on these babys! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Wonderful recipe! I made it for dinner with thoughts of sharing, but I am glad that my DH had other things to eat! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chile-loca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

See how to turn tilapia filets into tasty marinated fish tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States