Avocado Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was a tasty vegetarian alternative to regular beef or chicken tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very good, the reason I rated it 4 stars is because I omited the garlic salt, added lemon juice and used parsley instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I think I ate the whole thing by myself! Seriously so good, and yummy all year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
So easy and very fresh and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
We eat this all the time! Our favorite mixture is black beans sprinkled with a little garlic and cayenne, tomatoes, lettuce, onions, olives, sour cream, cilantro, salsa and cheese. It's so fresh and quick and easy. It's also great with a fresh pico de gallo! Thanks for the wonderful idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Avocadoes are so inexpensive this time of year, this recipe was just what I was looking for. I thought it was tasty...added some black beans and corn for substance- thanks!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I have to agree with other that this recipe is rather...basic. I didn't feel like going the healthy route by heating them in the oven. Rather, I deep fried those suckers ( the corn tortillas) to get them crispy. I also added canned (rinsed and drained too) black beans, lettuce, and diary-free mozzerella cheese substitute (Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet- which is available at Whole Foods and Trader Joe's). My non veg husband helped himself to 4 of them! We thought this was a great base recipe to give us endless possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I have to agree, this was GREAT! After reading some of the reviews, I too made a few adjustments. I added some cheese and a dollap of sour cream. And instead of adding the pico de gallo to the avocado mixture, I topped it with my homemade salsa. I also used store bought tostadas instead of toasting the tortillas in the oven. It saved lots of time, but next time I think I'd like to follow the suggestion of the others and add lime juice & olive oil and toast the tortillas in the oven. My DH, who thinks he needs meat in every meal LOVED these! It was the perfect meal on a rather hot afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smalley30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Wow, this was great!! We just finished dinner, and I had to write a review. My husband, a meat and potato kind of guy, really enjoyed this! I did make a few adjustments. After reading some reviews I used pinto beans, I added garlic salt to the beans instead of the tacos. I also used green onion, instead regular onion. I chopped the avocado, I think next time I will mash some of it. We also squeezed a slice of lime over the top of the taco. Oh, and after reading one review, I took olive oil, about 1/3 cup, and the juice of one lime, and a half teaspoon of salt and mixed it together, then brushed that over the tortillas and warmed them in a cast iron skillet. This could also be done in the oven. They were not greasy, but they were soft and had wonderful flavor. I will definitely be making this again! We served fresh watermellon with it, and it was a wonderful cool dinner on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Very good recipe. Added lettuce, green onions and tomatoes and skipped the jalapeno sauce(for health reasons).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States