Avocado Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I loved this recipe, even my strictly carnivorous boyfriend enjoyed it. I brush the outside of the tortillas with a olive oil-lime juice mixture before throwing them in the oven and left them there for a little longer than the recipe called for. I garnished the tacos with some pico de gallo, chili peppers and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This is a good idea, but it's a little boring as is. It's not much more than guacamole in a tortilla. I love avocados and eat them plain all the time, but if they're in a taco, I'd like to have other ingredients, such as tomato, lettuce, and maybe some black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I thought this recipe was bland, but fun to play with. I added some shredded cheese to the tortillas and then warmed them. I added some chopped onion and tomato, and lemon juice to the avacado mixture. I also serve them with mexican rice. my hubby, and 16 month old love them, and so do I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
While everyone else was eating their beef tacos, I was thoroughly enjoying the avacado version. I'm addicted to avacados and thought these were terrific. I used green onions, a can of mild green chiles and topped it with shredded cheddar. Delicious and thanks Karyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This recipe is so light and perfect for a warm summer night. I would definitely make sure to use the jalapeno pepper sauce, it brings out all of the flavors wonderfully, but without it, the dish is very plain. However, I gave this 4 stars(which it really was a border line 3-4, but since i personally liked it, i bumped it up to 4)because my family wasn't very impressed. My husband felt that there was something missing, and didn't think that guacamole smeared on top of corn tortillas with a little sauce, was a gerat meal idea. I could definatley see his point. Although I had no qualms making a meal of it, my girls hardly touched it. I really can't see myself making an entree out of this dish either, mainly because I think the key to this dish being successful is completely reliant on who you're serving it to. If you love avacado and are perfectly happy with a simple, light dish, than I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
My husband and I love these tacos! I had some plain, with just the avocado mixture and I had some with stir-fry steak strips, just 2-3 strips per taco, and less than 1/2 pound if steak altogether. I also added more like 1/2 cup of onion. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This recipe seemed a little bland. I added chopped tomato, olives, and green chiles. It came out really good. My daughter & mom enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
all things considered, with modification, this could be much better. sorry - i just wasn't impressed, and as a vegetarian married to a carnivore, i'm always on the lookout for things i can make for myself when i cook up tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Oh yum. I LOVE avocados! This was perfect for my vegian taco fiesta tonight. I have a house full of kids & hubbys out bowling, so we went to town on these babys! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Wonderful recipe! I made it for dinner with thoughts of sharing, but I am glad that my DH had other things to eat! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chile-loca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States