Avocado Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I added chopped fresh tomatoes to the mix and cooked seasoned chicken for my Husband. We loved it! Season according to your own personal taste and you can not go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
As is, this is a little plain for me. I think it is a good base for vegetarian tacos though. I dressed them up with salsa, cheese, sliced peppers, and flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was really simply and delicious! Avocados are one of my absolute favorite foods, so this really hit the spot for my hubby and me. I added black beans and sharp white cheddar cheese. Thank you for sharing! This will be a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSweet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rittman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is a good basic recipe for avocado tacos and good to play with. The recipe is a little plain as is, or you have to use jalapeno sauce to give an extra flavor. I added lime juice and jalapeno pepper into the mixture, because I didn`t have jalapeno sauce. And I used 2 cloves garlic instead of garlic salt. Turned out good and delicious. This recipe is a good idea how to prepare interesting and healty meal with avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was a great basic recipe! So easy to expand on! I would suggest a few things... Put some lemon juice in with the avocado mixture, gives it a nice zip. I cooked some TVP (textured vegetable protein - a ground beef substitute) with some taco seasoning, and my family didn't even know they were missing the meat! I also love this recipe with some chopped fresh tomatoes and cheddar cheese. Lettuce, black beans, corn, sour cream etc. would also make nice toppings for this recipe - I might just put them in little bowls and let the family serve themselves! Also - 1 bunch of cilantro was too much, I would have said half bunch at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This recipe has fast become a favorite of ours, I have made it 3 times now since I found on the site. I have utilized some of the tips from other members. I add lime juice, garlic powder, cumin and 1/2 can of mild chili peppers to the avocado and the other 1/2 of can to vegetarian refried beans. I heat the shells over a flame on the stove, then stack like a taco with beans, avocado mix, fresh cilantro, tomatoes, onions, black olives, lettuce and ranch dressing or hot sauce. My husband asks for these weekly! Quite a suprise since his first response was very questionable. Easy to make for a quick and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Cox Martinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very Tasty! I will add some tomatoes and lettuce to it for next time. It would also be great for an easy guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
VERY AMATUERISH RECIPE, BUT A GOOD SPRINGBOARD. THE PHOTO DOES NOT MATCH THE RECIPE THOUGH. IT LOOKS LIKE IT HAS BLACK BEANS AND TOMATOES, WHICH I WOULD RECOMMEND. ADD SOME LITE SOURCREAM AND SOME CHEDDAR CHEESE AS WELL AS YOUR GOOD TO GO. ADD SOME LEMON OR LIME TO THE AVOCADO TO PREVENT IT FROM BROWNING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
also very good with strips of grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I thought this was awesome. As a new vegetarian, it was so filling and I didn't miss the taco meat at all!! The avocado mixture was delicious. I coarsely chopped romaine lettuce and made pico de gallo with tomatoes, red onion and cilantro and black beans with garlic salt. I made it look just like the picture- even though that was not in the recipe. DELICIOUS!!!!! Your family will love it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States