Avocado Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Wow, this was great!! We just finished dinner, and I had to write a review. My husband, a meat and potato kind of guy, really enjoyed this! I did make a few adjustments. After reading some reviews I used pinto beans, I added garlic salt to the beans instead of the tacos. I also used green onion, instead regular onion. I chopped the avocado, I think next time I will mash some of it. We also squeezed a slice of lime over the top of the taco. Oh, and after reading one review, I took olive oil, about 1/3 cup, and the juice of one lime, and a half teaspoon of salt and mixed it together, then brushed that over the tortillas and warmed them in a cast iron skillet. This could also be done in the oven. They were not greasy, but they were soft and had wonderful flavor. I will definitely be making this again! We served fresh watermellon with it, and it was a wonderful cool dinner on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Very good recipe. Added lettuce, green onions and tomatoes and skipped the jalapeno sauce(for health reasons).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This recipe served as a great starting point for my girlfriend and I to elaborate on. We added shrimp that we cooked with garlic, butter, red onion, chili powder and lemon. Then, for the pico de gallo, we used tomatoes, jalapeno, red onion, cilantro, lemon, garlic salt and pepper. And last, we warmed up a can of black beans and put corn tortillas in the toaster oven. Splashes of Tapatio filled in a very nice part of the palate. Cheese was a great topper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
great tacos! I added some of my favirate veggies, like organic baby spinich, red, whit and green pepers, and some garlic pepper and it was great! yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Travis Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is a wonderful vegetarian recipe--I added black beans, sliced tomatoes, and peppers, and didn't miss the meat or cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Yum! I added a tomato and squeezed a lime into the mixture. Also, I skipped on heating the tortillas. Delicious and very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Definitely a good side-dish as-is. But add some black beans, some cheese, and whatever else you might like in a taco and these things are awesome as a main dish! Everyone liked the guacamole, which was the star of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I made this for a dinner party and it was a hit. I added black beans and chopped tomatoes and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Really good! I didn't mash the avocadoes, just cubed them- included some lime juice, and a 1/2 a roma tomato finely chopped. They were delicious- husband and kids enjoyed them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
There's something to be said about simplicity, and while I didn't eat any of the avocado tacos I made, my fiancee enjoyed them, and she said they were good. I guess what I'm driving at is that a recipe with four ingredients (not counting the tortillas) gets an extra star for being so easy and simple, partly since it serves as a great base recipe to tweak and add ingredients to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States