Avocado Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made it as is and felt it just wasn't very flavorful, so I added black beans and diced tomatoes and lightly fried the corn tortillas in olive oil and it was much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These tacos are a great idea, and excellent in theory, but it didn't translate well to my tastebuds. Meaning, I wasn't THAT impressed with the actual recipe. But I WOULD recommend starting with warm corn tortillas, slathering with your FAVORITE guac recipe, then adding all your favorite taco toppings. Enjoy with a nice cold margarita! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emurban3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I only give this 2 stars because I added black beans and yellow rice, which make it worth eating. This was so bland and the Corn Tortillas overpowered the mild flavors. I ended up just mixing everything together minus the tortillas and had myself a yellow rice/black bean salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Love this recipe! My husband and I are eating these weekly! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Back when I was eating meat, tacos were one of my favorite dinners. Now that I'm a vegetarian, I've been looking for a suitable replacement, and found that here! I did make some changes to the recipe. I sliced the avocado instead of mashing it, sliced the onion instead of dicing, and added diced tomatoes, jalapenos, and shredded monteray jack cheese. I also left out the garlic salt. The resulting dish is now my FAVORITE summertime meal! This recipe is a great base and very versatile, so it's easy to change each time you make it (sometimes, depending on my mood, I also add some black beans or refried beans). Definitely recommend for any vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Demarest, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
aok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Awesome. I took the advice of other reviews and made them my own. I added a little Joe T Garcia's salsa and some leftover Spicy Black Bean Salad. This took 5 minutes from beginning to end...mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Meine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Made it about 5 times now, the fam loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Kind of average, but I liked how easy and quick they were to make. I had to serve several different guests so I made the avocado spread sans onions, and instead put out small dishes of various toppings for my guests to custom make their tacos - bell peppers, onions, black beans, cilantro, cheese, hot sauce... It went great with the Hot Corn Dip recipe. Some even put the dip on the tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newton, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This dish needs something extra. Throw in some leftover chicken, refried beans, or tomatoes to liven it up. A great dish to have on hand for the vegetarian at your next taco dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States