Avocado Stuffed Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Five stars - for successful originality, if nothing else! What a weird combination, but it works well. I made these several weeks ago, and my husband was extremely skeptical. However, after trying them, he asked me to make them again. They may not be a "crave" food, but they are a great taste-buds adventure. I will be making them many times in the future. Note: I always do my yams in the microwave, as I seem to always be running short on time. Two yams, 6-8 minutes on each side should do it (instead of 40min-1hr in the oven). Don't forget to poke holes in the yams first, though! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I was surprised by this combination, but I like avocados and I like yams, so I thought I'd try it. It was truly wonderful! I loved every mouthful, and ate the leftovers for several days. I plan on making again and again. I'm even considering making a two layer dip (yams and guacamole) for our next party. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I've never liked yams so I've never bothered to cook them. Recently I had my boyfriend over for dinner and he happens to love yams. I found this recipe and after reading the reviews thought, I'll try it! After talking to some people who love yams, I was having some reservations with the combination of ingredients. I made this and decided to just cut one potato in half first and we'd try it. It was absolutely the most delicious potato I have eaten in my life!!! WOW! We're having the leftovers tonight! My boyfriend was very impressed and he now calls them "Yam Jammers". The only thing is, I made two Yams and it took double the time to cook..but I think the secret is to put the Yams directly on the rack of the oven and a cookie sheet underneath to catch the drippings. Thank you so much for an awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was good--nice flavor and great texture. I made it without the cheese. The lime was too much for me, though. Next time, I'll reduce or omit it. I'll also omit the olive oil (avocado is creamy enough by itself) and add some garlic and a dash of cayenne. The possibilities for this recipe are endless. I'd like to make an Asian version: red pepper, cilantro, soy sauce, and ginger--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. I have food sensitivities and this was a great hypoallergenic/gluten free IBS friendly recipe. I read all of the reviews and only used a splash of lemon juice, I added fresh garlic and omitted the cheese and the red pepper. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
In an attempt to incorporate avocados into my diet, I tried this. It sounds wierd, so I was skeptical. It was great! Made it without cilantro (forgot to buy it), and it tasted great. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This is absolutely delicious. I served it with a chicken breast and a dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Mixed reaction here. Yes, the combination is odd, but that's not the reason to slam the recipe. Creativity is important in cooking. We just found the flavours didn't mix that well. We essentially filled the potatoes with our 5 star guac. The wife liked it fine but the hubby was less than impressed. The savoury and garlicky flavour of the guac just doesn't compliment the sweetness of the potatoes that well. I guess we're used to a more sweet pairing than this. Full points for originality though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
sounds interesting. I was looking for a recipe with sweet potatoes and avocado (both are good for your skin) this will be super easy, especially if I use my regular guacamoli recipe (easier) or a store bought one. I only gave 4 star because I haven't done it yet, sorry, I usually hate it when people do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
delicious! i added soy chorizo as an extra topping, but otherwise kept the recipe as written. served with quinoa on the side and some greens. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States