Avocado Stuffed Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was good--nice flavor and great texture. I made it without the cheese. The lime was too much for me, though. Next time, I'll reduce or omit it. I'll also omit the olive oil (avocado is creamy enough by itself) and add some garlic and a dash of cayenne. The possibilities for this recipe are endless. I'd like to make an Asian version: red pepper, cilantro, soy sauce, and ginger--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
WOW! This recipe is amazing. I love yams, but I was lookig for a way to eat them w/o adding a ton of sugar, marshmellows, etc. like all the other recipes I've found. It was such a supprise how good these yams turned out. Just try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Five stars - for successful originality, if nothing else! What a weird combination, but it works well. I made these several weeks ago, and my husband was extremely skeptical. However, after trying them, he asked me to make them again. They may not be a "crave" food, but they are a great taste-buds adventure. I will be making them many times in the future. Note: I always do my yams in the microwave, as I seem to always be running short on time. Two yams, 6-8 minutes on each side should do it (instead of 40min-1hr in the oven). Don't forget to poke holes in the yams first, though! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I used guac as the topping instead. This is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I've never liked yams so I've never bothered to cook them. Recently I had my boyfriend over for dinner and he happens to love yams. I found this recipe and after reading the reviews thought, I'll try it! After talking to some people who love yams, I was having some reservations with the combination of ingredients. I made this and decided to just cut one potato in half first and we'd try it. It was absolutely the most delicious potato I have eaten in my life!!! WOW! We're having the leftovers tonight! My boyfriend was very impressed and he now calls them "Yam Jammers". The only thing is, I made two Yams and it took double the time to cook..but I think the secret is to put the Yams directly on the rack of the oven and a cookie sheet underneath to catch the drippings. Thank you so much for an awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I was surprised by this combination, but I like avocados and I like yams, so I thought I'd try it. It was truly wonderful! I loved every mouthful, and ate the leftovers for several days. I plan on making again and again. I'm even considering making a two layer dip (yams and guacamole) for our next party. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This is absolutely delicious. I served it with a chicken breast and a dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This is a wonderful blend of many different flavors! I was skeptical at first, but I was inthe mood for something different. I LOVE sweet potatoes and yams, but it seems everyone prepares them the same 'sugary' way. This turned out GREAT, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Simply put...YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-69 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States