Avocado Stuffed Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Wow... what a taste :) Like others, thought the combo was strange... but strange enough, it was totally yummie. I included to my taste: red pepper, garlic, lemon juice, sour cream, pesto, cheese and pepper. Truly delicious !!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
As previous reviews have said-what a very odd combination. But I thought..I like yams...I like avacado...let's give it a try! Unfortunately I was the only one out of the family who loved these but then again, I am the only one who loves interesting and flavorful foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I was a skeptic since this sounded odd, but it was actually good! I nuked the taters to save time and used half of a red pepper and half of a seeded tomato instead of 1 red pepper. I also left out the oil and cheese...completely unnecessary. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
this was actually pretty good. I didn't know what to expect but it turned out great! i steamed my sweet potato and use american cheese (that was the only cheese i had at the time) it was yummy! i will definitely make this agaim :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryMary

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Wow, what an odd yet tasty combo. I omitted the oil and cheese but still sooooo yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I didn't add olive oil or cumin because I didn't have any. I also added green peppers, and put in more green onion and lime juice than the recipe called for. Felt like recipe didn't need cheese. Couldn't really taste the avocado, but that's probably because of the overload of lime juice and as a result of adding too much green pepper. If I make this next time, I will add some garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Like so many other reviewers, my wife loves both avocados and yams. When I told her about this recipe she was sure I'd finally gone over the edge. But wow did she like it as did my daughter and teenage grandson for whom I had prepared french fries thinking he wouldn't even try the sweet potato. The store didn't have yams, so I used red sweet potatoes and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was one of those "I-can't-believe-that-this-will-taste-good-so-I-have-to-try-it" recipes. But WOW, this was suprisingly good! My husband was extremely skeptical but after trying them, he said he wanted more. I did microwave the yams to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArtistColumbus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Fantastic and creative. My BF doesn't even like yams and he enjoyed this one. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma_Ally
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a pretty sweet recipe. It's original, healthful, and tasty. The only thing I would do it cut the Cumin down to 1/4 tsp because it imparts such a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma_Ally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States