Avocado Stuffed Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
WOW! - what a hit and SO DECLISIOUS! I'm not a fan of avocado but I couldn't help myself - went back for 2nds AND 3rds! personally I cut out the olive oil and cumin and blended the avocado in a mixer before gently combining the remaining ingredients. . I also mixed a bit of the cheese into the stuffing before putting onto the yams with more cheese. Yum yum yum! -- excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I was skeptical about this when I first read this recipe. But after seeing excellent reviews I thought I would give it a try. This is amazing!! Who would have thought Avocado with Yams. It is delicious!! Thank you so much for this recipe. I will make it many times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
The Concept was good, but the actual taste wasn't. I made this recipe for my family and the Guacamole dressing on top of the Yam was not a big hit. I should have put half a red bell pepper in it and added a tomato. Instead we used the topping as dip for some chips and it was ok like that; but to have it with the sweet Yams wasn't working. I was very disappointed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FamilyCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My husband dislikes yams but he quite enjoyed these. A happy surprise for me because I LOVE yams and now I can make them without any complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Tasty and feels so decadent without being unhealthy. I skipped the cheese - it was rich enough without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
this rating is for my modified version, NOT the original recipe! i based what i did on the other reviews: microwaved the yams and omitted the cheese, oil (to make it less fatty) and cilantro (didn't have any). it came out very good and the flavors worked together, but i could see the cheese adding another dimension -- will try that next time! don't think i missed anything by not using oil or cilantro, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
It's a very interesting combination. I found the avocado to be creamy enough and didn't add the olive oil. Next time I would use less cilantro, I found it a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I love this recipe and have made it many times. Sometimes I play with what I mix with the avocado depending on what's on hand -- the cumin and lime/lemon juice are the most important -- and I don't use the oil. And it's easy too if you're just making one for yourself to toss the yam in the microwave. I highly recommend trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Oh my! I've been wanting to try this for a while, and am so glad I did! What a great lunch! Skipped the oil, and who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Surprising good! I omitted the cheese and olive oil from the topping. I baked the sweet potatoes until they were very soft & releasing syrup. The red pepper needs to be diced really fine or the crunchy texture will interfere with the creamy smoothness of the avocado and sweet potatoes. We make these all the time now, thank you :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca V2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States