Avocado Stuffed Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Pretty good, I love avocados and yams so you cant really go wrong. I added 1/4 cup of sour cream and 1/2 tsp of both chilli powder and ground cardamon and added the cheese before the filling to give it a chance to melt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is soooooo good! I microwaved the potato, removed it from the skin and mashed it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
On reading this recipe, I thought "Oh, how icky!" but it sounded so intriguing I had to try it, so I scaled it down to 1 (as I knew hubby wouldn't even try it) and plunged in! (I left out the cumin and cilantro, which my unsophisticated tastebuds can't handle, and omitted the cheese by choice, but followed the rest of the recipe to the letter.) Like most of the other reviewers, I was amazed and hooked. Hubby asked what I was saying "I can't believe this actually works. It's weird, but it works!" about. When I told him, he said, "Eww! Ick!", but my stalwart companion does not always follow my adventuresome tastebuds where none have gone before. This is a real awesome recipe. Thanks, SqueakyLynn! This is now a fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Mixed reaction here. Yes, the combination is odd, but that's not the reason to slam the recipe. Creativity is important in cooking. We just found the flavours didn't mix that well. We essentially filled the potatoes with our 5 star guac. The wife liked it fine but the hubby was less than impressed. The savoury and garlicky flavour of the guac just doesn't compliment the sweetness of the potatoes that well. I guess we're used to a more sweet pairing than this. Full points for originality though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This recipe was excellent! I needed a new, appetizing way to prepare the yams we had, one that my family would get enthused about, and wow did this do the trick! The avocado stuffing recipe also goes excellent with Chicken Nachos. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. I have food sensitivities and this was a great hypoallergenic/gluten free IBS friendly recipe. I read all of the reviews and only used a splash of lemon juice, I added fresh garlic and omitted the cheese and the red pepper. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a bazaar dish, but it's really good! I tried it because of all the rave reviews. I'm not sure why this works, but it does, the flavors mix really nicely. I don't think I would serve this to company, but I know a lot of picky eaters :) For myself, I will definitely make this again. One thing I did differently is I used tomatoes instead of red peppers, on the advise of another reviewer. This recipe is proof that guacamole is good on everything :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Apa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My yams needed some extra time to get soft enough to fluff. After 55 minutes in the oven I just put them in the oven. The avocado mixture was fantastic with the yams though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Like others, I wanted a different way of eating sweet potatoes. I thought this would be great: rave reviews, I love all the ingredients... I don't know what I did wrong. I like the idea of it, but this one just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I thought this looked disgusting, but all the good reviews made me curious, so I tried it. Even as I was making this, I thought it looked odd, and my family all thought it looked "gross", but all the reviews are right. It's a wonderful combination and my whole family loved it. I can't wait to gross out my extended family with this one as well! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States