Avocado Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I replaced the thick dinner steaks with thin (about 1/4 inch) steaks (stove top cooked) and added the same ingredients but added coarse ground pepper, one diced red pepper, and a tblspn chives and parsley. The final addition was flour tortillas warmed and slightly browned on one side. This allowed me to roll the steak up in the tortilla like a burrito. I used this idea to serve 45 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokinjo29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was okay... not spectacular, but nice for a change of pace. It kinda hides the meat flavor a little too much for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
this was pretty good, but i also love refried beans, fried onions and avocado so you can't go wrong. not a wow dish but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Good, but my family wasn't fond of the steak cut that we used. We will definately use a really good cut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Good! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Great recipe, but changed a few things. Firstly I used frozen Quorn pieces(vegi alternative) instead of steak. I didn't use any oil,to make it healthier and once I cooked the red onions I used I put the pieces in to take on the flavour as well as eye balling some fajita seasoning.I heated up the beans and added some garlic and cumin powder to them as well as some low fat cheese one they were warmed through. In addition I added a little water to the beans so they weren't so thick. I also used a packet of microwave frozen white rice to save time ( heats in 3 minutes while you cook everything else. Then I layed it all. Placing the cubed avocados on top. Very yummy dish. Since it was only for me...I scaled things down. Will definately make it again. As I am on a diet-slimming world, this is perfect as there is very little in the way of fats (apart from the avocado of course and the low fat cheese). Will definately make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was a big hit. I found it a little time consuming with all the steps though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
It might help to explain this dish as enchiladas without the torillas. Very yummy indeed! I had a ripe avocado and thawed steaks for dinner, but no plan. As the only recipe I could find using both, I was a bit skeptical. However, it turned out to be a HUGE hit! I took some other reviewer's tips and added garlic salt and shredded mexican cheese blend to the refried beans. I marinated the steaks in worcestershire and Montreal Steak Seasoning, as we usually do. I sliced the beef and piled it on top of jasmine rice, topped with refried beans, carmelized onions, avocado slices and thinly sliced tomatoes. A few slices of fresh jalepenos on my husband's, too. He came back for THIRDS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Ohrum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I made this for my family and they all loved it, no leftovers. We will for sure make this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Absolutely outstanding! A real Tex-Mex feel. I marinated the steak in Southwest marinade (by McCormick) first, and also added fresh tomatoes from the garden to the carmelized onions. My skeptical husband and 9 year old daughter wolfed it all down! Easy, delicious, and impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States