Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
A fantastic soup! I chose not to bake the corn tortilla strips for a garnish and used the crush corn tortilla chips that I had on hand instead. They worked just fine. I only used two jalapenos and three cloves of garlic. Eight cloves seemed like a bit too many and I don't prefer my dishes to be overly spicy. I also added some cumin to the soup as the chicken cooked. Instead of fresh tomato, I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis. My boyrfriend and I (both mexican food enthusiasts) really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devolution587

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
A great soup & different. I made it a couple times. I used 4 avacados and put them in the food processor before adding into the soup.Makes it really smooth & creamy. I seeded the jalpenos before dicing them. I like the tang from the lime. Also I didn't have a tomato so i used a can of diced tomatoes with chilies, they worked perfect. I'll make this again. It also freezes well and if good thawed and reheated. Thank you for a differnt and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Really good. I loved the avocado in it and thought it could use another one. I also had to use canned tomatoes because I ran out of fresh ones. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was pretty good, but I would probably make a few changes in the future if I were to make it again. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This soup was so tastey, I am not a fan of cilantro but followed the recipe to a tee (used 2 jalepinos not 4) To me it was to die for... Top of my list. Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I love this soup and everyone I have made it for requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyl R.
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
OMG - This soup is amazing!!! I've made it twice now and each time it came out exactly as expected - delicious!! I like to make it so that I have lunch for a few days - as it tastes even better the next day...fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Very good! My husband I I both loved this. The changes I made were I used a can of original Rotel instead of a tomato (only b/c I'm sick and was lazy), added some shredded montery jack while it was cooking, and only put a few slices of jalapeno's in while it was cooking for the flavor but removed before serving. The Rotel has green chilies in it. I also threw it all in my crock pot on high for 4 hrs. I then topped w/ some low fat sour cream, shredded chedder, and some low fat tortilla chips. I will definalty make again, but try w/ the tomato and jalapeno to see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makuplver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe. Love the hotness from the jalapeños. This reminds me of my time in Mexico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Fantastic!!!!!! Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiqui Vasquez Dagle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States