Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
We make this soup all the time and love it!! The only substitutes we use (and we do this to make it easier) is use 3/4 a can of diced tomatoes with juice rather than dicing a whole tomato, and we buy the bag of lightly salted tortilla strips rather than making our own. Also, we use 1-2 jalapenos rather than 4. I love spicy food, but 4 is even too much for me, unless you just cook them in the soup and then take them out before eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I tried this recipe with not too high of expectations since i did not think a soup with avocado could taste good. Boy was I surprised. not only was it delicious but sooooo easy. this will be made in my family for years to come. Had a wonderful kick thanks to the jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was wonderful. I did add some canned corn. And only used 2 jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
WOW !!! Great soup. Love the lime in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was a very tasty recipe that is easily thrown together in a matter of minutes. The reasons this is not a five start recipe are that it needs more avocado and spices. I used 2 avocados and threw in 1/4 tsp of cumin and chili powder plus a little less than 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I like my food spicy, but in my opinion those are the spices that need to be used in this soup. Also, I used blue corn tortilla chips instead of baking tortillas, 2 roma tomatoes and only 3 jalapenos (not to sound like an organic foods snob but the difference in heat between conventional and organic is astronomical). I will make this again at some point I'm sure, the only thing I will do differently next time is puree the avocados in a food processor to thicken up the soup and add one more avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learntosink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coronagirl0828

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is a great healthy soup! I made exactly as written except used extra lime (which probably wasn't a good idea), extra avocado (which WAS a good idea), and store-bought corn tortilla chips to save on time. Turned out great, definitely on the spicy side tho so if you're sensitive to spice cut back on the jalepinos. Will definitely make again! Lots of flavor without using a ton of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was an interesting soup. Kind of weird compared to what we usually eat I guess? I don't know if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Good base! Substituted can of green chiles for the jalopenos, doubled the cilantro, added thinly sliced mushrooms, and shredded cabbage and carrots for a flavorful and filling meal. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Made it with leftover chicken and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States