Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I am a soup lover. I wanted to make avacado soup and thought I would give this one a try. Wow! I didn't use as many jalapeno's as called for and removed the seeds. Glad I did. Three peppers were just about right for us. This is the perfect soup to accompany your Mexican Food dinner. We had a good Mexican beer with our meal and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
so tasty! i've made this soup many times, i add corn and sometimes a little rice too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was fantastic!! I loved the lime juice in this soup- it gave it a nice tang. It was very filling, but light so you can have it any day of the week. I actually wish it had more avocado so I added 2 instead of 1 1/2. I also added a dollop of sour cream at the end and it gave the soup a nice rich flavor. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I hate to be the lone disenting voice but we ended up throwing most of this out. I highly suggest you add the lime a little bit at a time to taste. It was just waaay too sour and tangy for us. I took some of the leftovers and poured off most of the tangy broth and replaced it with plain chicken broth. I then topped it with shredded Monterey Jack and some thin crushed tortilla chips. It was much improved but still probably not a soup I would make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
very tastey! I made quite a bit to feed my mom, my sister, and some hungry men, and it satisfied all! My sister doesn't like cilantro and my dad doesn't like avocado, so rather than add them to the soup i added them to individual bowls, and everyone could have as much as they liked of each. I wasn't going to toast the tortilla strips 'cause i figured they'd just get soggy anyway (so what's the point?) But since i was preheating the oven for something else i did it anyway. I'm glad i did, because the next day i just threw some torilla strips in with the left overs and they were a whole different kind of soggy! tortilla mush. Definately toast them first. :) I also added corn for a little more color, and a tad less garlic. I threw in some more spices toward the end for more flavor, to make up for slightly less jalapeno. (I didn't want to kill everyone with the ammount called for in this recipe!) It could have used more chicken for our tastes as well, but totally a keeper. Very easy to modify! The lime was excellent, i could have used more. I served this with cuban black beans best spanish rice, and ultimate frozen strawberry margaritas. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This soup has great flavor. Husband loves it tremendously. He suggests a side dish of Mexican rice & beans. A definite recipe to make over and over. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EatsBooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I added a can of pinquito beans and some frozen corn to this recipe and it was very filling and flavorful. The cilantro and real lime juice really make it stand out. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This soup was so tastey, I am not a fan of cilantro but followed the recipe to a tee (used 2 jalepinos not 4) To me it was to die for... Top of my list. Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I really like this recipe. No one else at my house would try it, though. Anyway, the second time I made this I used 2 avocados (I LOVE avocado) pureed them -(I liked the creamy texture), and used pre-packaged fajita chicken strips for easier preparation. I also used corn chips both times. I adjusted the seasoning a little (Tony Chachere's), just to kick it up a notch because of the extra avocado. YUM!! Definitely a new comfort food for me! FOLLOW-UP: You might not want to use chicken buillion cubes for the broth. I tried that when out of canned broth and it is WAY too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
LOVE this recipe!!! Will make again and again. My boyfriend is a big soup person and loved it. Definately one of the best soup recipes i've ever made...thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States