Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Good Flavor. Great way to use things I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
A fantastic soup! I chose not to bake the corn tortilla strips for a garnish and used the crush corn tortilla chips that I had on hand instead. They worked just fine. I only used two jalapenos and three cloves of garlic. Eight cloves seemed like a bit too many and I don't prefer my dishes to be overly spicy. I also added some cumin to the soup as the chicken cooked. Instead of fresh tomato, I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis. My boyrfriend and I (both mexican food enthusiasts) really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devolution587

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
A great soup & different. I made it a couple times. I used 4 avacados and put them in the food processor before adding into the soup.Makes it really smooth & creamy. I seeded the jalpenos before dicing them. I like the tang from the lime. Also I didn't have a tomato so i used a can of diced tomatoes with chilies, they worked perfect. I'll make this again. It also freezes well and if good thawed and reheated. Thank you for a differnt and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Really good. I loved the avocado in it and thought it could use another one. I also had to use canned tomatoes because I ran out of fresh ones. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was pretty good, but I would probably make a few changes in the future if I were to make it again. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This soup was so tastey, I am not a fan of cilantro but followed the recipe to a tee (used 2 jalepinos not 4) To me it was to die for... Top of my list. Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I love this soup and everyone I have made it for requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyl R.
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
OMG - This soup is amazing!!! I've made it twice now and each time it came out exactly as expected - delicious!! I like to make it so that I have lunch for a few days - as it tastes even better the next day...fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Very good! My husband I I both loved this. The changes I made were I used a can of original Rotel instead of a tomato (only b/c I'm sick and was lazy), added some shredded montery jack while it was cooking, and only put a few slices of jalapeno's in while it was cooking for the flavor but removed before serving. The Rotel has green chilies in it. I also threw it all in my crock pot on high for 4 hrs. I then topped w/ some low fat sour cream, shredded chedder, and some low fat tortilla chips. I will definalty make again, but try w/ the tomato and jalapeno to see how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makuplver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe. Love the hotness from the jalapeños. This reminds me of my time in Mexico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States