Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I am not usually a fan of soup with broth and lots of vegetables (I'm more of a creamy/cheesy soup kind of person)... but I love avocados and lime so I thought I'd give this a try. And WOW!!! This is now my number one favorite soup. I make it at least once a week, using leftover chicken, or lemon marinated chicken. Doesn't matter, it's good no matter what. It's the no fail soup. Love it, love it, love it. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
It was allright tasting, nothing special though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Everyone loves this soup and wants the recipie. I had it in Mexico and didn't think I would ever find a recipie. I double the avocados, shred the chicken and leave out the jalapenos. In Mexico they put in some kind of stringy cheese also. I can't figure out what they used. I tried mozarella but it just isn't the same. This is my new favorite soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I made this soup as the recipe is written, and I liked the lime kick, but I just wasn't crazy for this soup at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This soup is fantastic! I doubled the cilantro since my husband and I are both big fans of this herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is a great soup - I've made it many times and it is always requested by friends and family. One of my favorite substitutions is to add 6 - 10 tomatillos for the lime juice. It gives it a different kind of tart - very rich and yummy. I usually start them in the chicken stock first and then add everything else. I usually garnish with tortilla chips, cheese, and maybe a dollop of sour cream or salsa. You won't be sorry to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I love this recipe. I usually leave off the avocados because certain family members dislike them. But it tastes great even without the avacados. I like to top it with some quesadilla cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I really liked this soup and so did my family. When I make it now, I make more broth and and a can of corn and a can of black beans if I am making it for a meal. If it is for a starter, then I leave the recipe alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawkins, Texas, USA
Living In: Holly Lake Ranch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was delicious and even better the next day. I halved the jalapeno for this recipe since so many thought it was extra spicy. I used crushed tortillia chips and a little shredded cheese in the bottom of each coup bowl. I ate this every day for a week for lunch and ended up losing 3 pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRADDE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
BURN BABY BURN!! Use half the amount of jalapenos, if you want to keep your lips! Other than that it is sooo tasty! The crispy tortillas are the best idea ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States