Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Loved it. I did add a can of Rotel w/ lime/cilantro. Only had dried cilantro, garlic powder and dried onions...still delicious. I was just trying to find a recipe to use my chicken and avocado. I'm sure it would be even better with fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layla Spanenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Great and sooo easy! I added some corn that I had in my refrigerator; it matched perfectly. Next time, i'll use another tomatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGNACIO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This soup is healing! When you are sick... nothing tastes better or makes you feel better-- I have friend's that call me to make them this soup when the feel bad. It has such good flavor! The combination of cilantro, lime, and jalapeños is just so amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BryAna Villar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My recipe turned out really good I added a little parsley to it made it 100percent to me I would def do this again always have to put your own touch to any recipe I even cooked my chicken and season to my taste first too accent salt salt pepper oregano parley all the good stuff and other seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Perfect recipe..the soup turned out awesome..hubby loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
THE BEST soup we ever made. Healthy, very delicious, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
A Plus. The limey broth puts it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good but we made several adjustments. We added black beans, corn, rice and reduced the jalapeños to have of the recipe. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
First off, I used frozen fajita chicken strips, bottled lime juice, 3 jalapenos, and no avocados or tomatoes or salt & pepper. The recipe calls for way too much onion and jalapeno. I had to take about 2 cups worth out of the soup to make it edible. Despite this, the soup itself has a great kick and with a couple tries could be perfected. I think I will try this recipe again in the future with less onion and jalapeno, and then I will add some salt and add decent avocados. Also, I'm not a fan of soggy tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I enjoyed this soup. It is a five-star recipe when you reduce the amount of lime and garlic. Very similar to tortilla soup, light and refreshing with the cool avocado and filling with the savoury broth and jalapeño peppers. I compared this recipe to what is called tortilla soup on AR and the other recipes are full of seasonings and canned vegetables (including the tomatoes). Here all the ingredients are fresh and this grabs your attention from the first taste to the last. It is simple yet complete; nothing is missing. Having said that there is too much lime and way too much garlic. This isn't a personal like or dislike, 1 part lime juice to 4 parts stock is simply overbearing. Two garilc cloves per serving is gut wrenching. I used half of the listed amount of lime and still after I had finished 1/2 the bowl I was puckering up. It didn't stop me from eating two bowls of it though. It went nicely with a cold beer. Definitely give this a try, just do as some of the other reviewers advised: add the lime juice taste by taste and consider what 8 cloves of garlic in one quart of liquid means to you, then proceed. Lastly, I accidentally made this with turkey breast instead of chicken. (It looked like chicken when I grabbed it out of the freezer...). I did notice the difference but it was good anyway. Thanks Michelle for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States