Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I made this recipe just as directed. It was delicious. Especially right off the fire. Spicy for the kids but a unique alternative recipe for grown folks. Sure you could thicken it if you want. To do so, I would use a butter/flour roux heated but unbrowned as my first guess. ¡Muy sabrosa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This soup was pretty good, though be sure to serve it with something hearty, as it's not very filling. From the title, we thought it would be an avocado based soup, but it isn't. It was served because our 2 dinner guests gave us a list of 8 or 9 food restrictions, and this was the recipe that was left. It was actually pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Arena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This soup is unbelievable. When I made it for a friend, she suggested I quit my job and open a soup shop! The lime (and all those jalapenos!) really makes it. I cannot wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palewinterwind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I used frozen chicken breasts, minced garlic and canned jalapenos and still this came out delicious. It had just enough spice and is surprisingly very filling. I might add another avocado next time, just for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I LOVED this soup...although I was the only one in the family that felt that way. Followed the recipe exactly and was happy that my soupless dh and kids didn't have seconds, because it was all mine! :-) The lime and cilantro were a great flavor combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This was a pretty good soup, and it was easy and quick to make. I added a little more lime juice and a few dashes of chipotle sauce (like Tabasco or Bufalo chipotle sauces) for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This soup was ok, but it didn't have any flavors that wowed me. Beware: if you don't like spicy this is not for you! My mouth burned for a long time after. Omit some or all of the jalapenos if you like less spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by killerbroccoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I was the hit this past Cinco de Mayo when I served this soup for lunch! I also topped it off with a little Cheddar cheese. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was a good soup overall. I really liked the lime flavor that dominated. The soup was just too watery though, but I'm not a fan of broth only soups. Maybe adding some cream or something to it. I did blend a portion of the soup, but it was still just too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I really like this recipe. No one else at my house would try it, though. Anyway, the second time I made this I used 2 avocados (I LOVE avocado) pureed them -(I liked the creamy texture), and used pre-packaged fajita chicken strips for easier preparation. I also used corn chips both times. I adjusted the seasoning a little (Tony Chachere's), just to kick it up a notch because of the extra avocado. YUM!! Definitely a new comfort food for me! FOLLOW-UP: You might not want to use chicken buillion cubes for the broth. I tried that when out of canned broth and it is WAY too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States