Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
A Plus. The limey broth puts it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I do not typically cook pork, but these were easy prep, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good but we made several adjustments. We added black beans, corn, rice and reduced the jalapeños to have of the recipe. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
First off, I used frozen fajita chicken strips, bottled lime juice, 3 jalapenos, and no avocados or tomatoes or salt & pepper. The recipe calls for way too much onion and jalapeno. I had to take about 2 cups worth out of the soup to make it edible. Despite this, the soup itself has a great kick and with a couple tries could be perfected. I think I will try this recipe again in the future with less onion and jalapeno, and then I will add some salt and add decent avocados. Also, I'm not a fan of soggy tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I enjoyed this soup. It is a five-star recipe when you reduce the amount of lime and garlic. Very similar to tortilla soup, light and refreshing with the cool avocado and filling with the savoury broth and jalapeño peppers. I compared this recipe to what is called tortilla soup on AR and the other recipes are full of seasonings and canned vegetables (including the tomatoes). Here all the ingredients are fresh and this grabs your attention from the first taste to the last. It is simple yet complete; nothing is missing. Having said that there is too much lime and way too much garlic. This isn't a personal like or dislike, 1 part lime juice to 4 parts stock is simply overbearing. Two garilc cloves per serving is gut wrenching. I used half of the listed amount of lime and still after I had finished 1/2 the bowl I was puckering up. It did't stop me from eating two bowls of it though. It went nicely with a cold beer. Definitely give this a try, just do as some of the other reviewers advised: add the lime juice taste by taste and consider what 8 cloves of garlic in one quart of liquid means to you, then proceed. Lastly, I accidentally made this with turkey breast instead of chicken. (It looked like chicken when I grabbed it out of the freezer...). I did notice the difference but it was good anyway. Thanks Michelle for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Amazing. Even with the jalapeño kick, my kids loved it! Super flavorful and very fast (which usually don't go together). Great light summer soup. We will be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I just added some corn and roasted my jalapeños before dicing them. The soup was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I thought this was really good for a quick soup. My boyfriend said it was missing something, but I would definitely make it as is again. We ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I followed everything to a tee and it came out prefect. My boyfriend is a chef at a fine dining establishment and he also said it was an amazing recipe. The only thing I changed its I added extra avocado because I live avocados.also, added shredded cheese but we lived it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Absolutely fantastic. Quick, easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States