Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
WOW! Best soup I've had in a long time. I had made chicken tacos but had a lot of meat left over, so I used it in place of the chicken and fresh tomato. Came out great! I agree the fresh lime juice really adds a special flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I'd give it more stars if I could! I love it as it is, but if I have time, I roast a chicken, and use the meat for the soup. Then I salt and roast the bones until they are really brown, then simmer them in a pot for several hours to make a broth (you can add celery, onion, carrot etc to the pot). I usually substitute 2-3 anaheim chilis -- that way we get the flavor of jalapenos without the heat. I also thicken the broth with a little cornstarch just before serviing. Like I said, though, you don't NEED to do anything different for it to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Lowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I would only use 2 jalapenos next time but otherwise delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
THIS IS OUR FAVORITE SOUP! We have fixed it 4 weekends in a row. Go easy on the lime. We served it with tortilla chips and with soft tortillas. I used a little rice in the pot the first time but it made yucky leftovers. I double it for leftovers and I use only 2 jalapenos for the kids sake. SUPER DYNOMITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinksneekaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
soooo good. I made it the night before so the flavors could blend. Used one really big jalapeno, but kept the seeds in. Substituted one whole can of Rotel with green chilies. Sliced the chicken really thinly. Used only 4 cloves of garlic which was plenty (we love spicy food and the ingerdient list as called for would have been too much for us). One addition was a hearty sprinkle of cumin, which really enhanced the flavor. Easy and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
LOVED this soup! The only thing I would say is that it calls for 4 jalapeños, and I used 2 larger ones, and it was bordering on too spicy. Next time I would probably either use 2 small ones, 1 large one, or maybe remove the seeds. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I had a soup in Toronto similar to this that I have been trying to recreate and this hit the mark. It is the broth that is so good. Tons of lime, cilantro, and jalapeno is the key. It is very unique, healthy and oh so delicious. I cut out the veins and seeds of the jalapeno so it was not that hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I threw in a few large shrimp that were doing nothing in the freezer, and left out the tortilla strips because I thought there was enough going on with all the other flavors and textures. The only other thing I did differently was to add a splash of fish sauce. If I were to make it again, I would add some red pepper flakes too. Thanks, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Good Flavor. Great way to use things I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
A fantastic soup! I chose not to bake the corn tortilla strips for a garnish and used the crush corn tortilla chips that I had on hand instead. They worked just fine. I only used two jalapenos and three cloves of garlic. Eight cloves seemed like a bit too many and I don't prefer my dishes to be overly spicy. I also added some cumin to the soup as the chicken cooked. Instead of fresh tomato, I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis. My boyrfriend and I (both mexican food enthusiasts) really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devolution587

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States