Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
THIS IS OUR FAVORITE SOUP! We have fixed it 4 weekends in a row. Go easy on the lime. We served it with tortilla chips and with soft tortillas. I used a little rice in the pot the first time but it made yucky leftovers. I double it for leftovers and I use only 2 jalapenos for the kids sake. SUPER DYNOMITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinksneekaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
soooo good. I made it the night before so the flavors could blend. Used one really big jalapeno, but kept the seeds in. Substituted one whole can of Rotel with green chilies. Sliced the chicken really thinly. Used only 4 cloves of garlic which was plenty (we love spicy food and the ingerdient list as called for would have been too much for us). One addition was a hearty sprinkle of cumin, which really enhanced the flavor. Easy and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
LOVED this soup! The only thing I would say is that it calls for 4 jalapeños, and I used 2 larger ones, and it was bordering on too spicy. Next time I would probably either use 2 small ones, 1 large one, or maybe remove the seeds. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I had a soup in Toronto similar to this that I have been trying to recreate and this hit the mark. It is the broth that is so good. Tons of lime, cilantro, and jalapeno is the key. It is very unique, healthy and oh so delicious. I cut out the veins and seeds of the jalapeno so it was not that hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I threw in a few large shrimp that were doing nothing in the freezer, and left out the tortilla strips because I thought there was enough going on with all the other flavors and textures. The only other thing I did differently was to add a splash of fish sauce. If I were to make it again, I would add some red pepper flakes too. Thanks, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Good Flavor. Great way to use things I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
A fantastic soup! I chose not to bake the corn tortilla strips for a garnish and used the crush corn tortilla chips that I had on hand instead. They worked just fine. I only used two jalapenos and three cloves of garlic. Eight cloves seemed like a bit too many and I don't prefer my dishes to be overly spicy. I also added some cumin to the soup as the chicken cooked. Instead of fresh tomato, I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis. My boyrfriend and I (both mexican food enthusiasts) really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devolution587

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
A great soup & different. I made it a couple times. I used 4 avacados and put them in the food processor before adding into the soup.Makes it really smooth & creamy. I seeded the jalpenos before dicing them. I like the tang from the lime. Also I didn't have a tomato so i used a can of diced tomatoes with chilies, they worked perfect. I'll make this again. It also freezes well and if good thawed and reheated. Thank you for a differnt and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Really good. I loved the avocado in it and thought it could use another one. I also had to use canned tomatoes because I ran out of fresh ones. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was pretty good, but I would probably make a few changes in the future if I were to make it again. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States