Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
When I use a recipe for the first time I try to stick to what the originator of the recipe had chosen. I just could not bring myself to use 4 whole Jalapeno peppers with seeds chopped. So I chopped one whole pepper and seeded another before chopping. The soup was very good but still too hot. The flavors were great and interesting so next time (and there will be a next time) I am going to use 4 pepper seeded and chopped for flavor and get the heat from a 1/4 tsp cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This soup should be called Chicken Tortilla Soup with Avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This recipe is almost exactly as a mexican dish Soupa De Lima. Excellent soup, I added 1 cup of black beans and corn. USed tortilla chips and shredded cheese for toppings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
WOW! Best soup I've had in a long time. I had made chicken tacos but had a lot of meat left over, so I used it in place of the chicken and fresh tomato. Came out great! I agree the fresh lime juice really adds a special flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I'd give it more stars if I could! I love it as it is, but if I have time, I roast a chicken, and use the meat for the soup. Then I salt and roast the bones until they are really brown, then simmer them in a pot for several hours to make a broth (you can add celery, onion, carrot etc to the pot). I usually substitute 2-3 anaheim chilis -- that way we get the flavor of jalapenos without the heat. I also thicken the broth with a little cornstarch just before serviing. Like I said, though, you don't NEED to do anything different for it to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I would only use 2 jalapenos next time but otherwise delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
THIS IS OUR FAVORITE SOUP! We have fixed it 4 weekends in a row. Go easy on the lime. We served it with tortilla chips and with soft tortillas. I used a little rice in the pot the first time but it made yucky leftovers. I double it for leftovers and I use only 2 jalapenos for the kids sake. SUPER DYNOMITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinksneekaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
soooo good. I made it the night before so the flavors could blend. Used one really big jalapeno, but kept the seeds in. Substituted one whole can of Rotel with green chilies. Sliced the chicken really thinly. Used only 4 cloves of garlic which was plenty (we love spicy food and the ingerdient list as called for would have been too much for us). One addition was a hearty sprinkle of cumin, which really enhanced the flavor. Easy and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
LOVED this soup! The only thing I would say is that it calls for 4 jalapeños, and I used 2 larger ones, and it was bordering on too spicy. Next time I would probably either use 2 small ones, 1 large one, or maybe remove the seeds. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I had a soup in Toronto similar to this that I have been trying to recreate and this hit the mark. It is the broth that is so good. Tons of lime, cilantro, and jalapeno is the key. It is very unique, healthy and oh so delicious. I cut out the veins and seeds of the jalapeno so it was not that hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States