Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was wonderful. I did add some canned corn. And only used 2 jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
WOW !!! Great soup. Love the lime in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was a very tasty recipe that is easily thrown together in a matter of minutes. The reasons this is not a five start recipe are that it needs more avocado and spices. I used 2 avocados and threw in 1/4 tsp of cumin and chili powder plus a little less than 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I like my food spicy, but in my opinion those are the spices that need to be used in this soup. Also, I used blue corn tortilla chips instead of baking tortillas, 2 roma tomatoes and only 3 jalapenos (not to sound like an organic foods snob but the difference in heat between conventional and organic is astronomical). I will make this again at some point I'm sure, the only thing I will do differently next time is puree the avocados in a food processor to thicken up the soup and add one more avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learntosink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coronagirl0828

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is a great healthy soup! I made exactly as written except used extra lime (which probably wasn't a good idea), extra avocado (which WAS a good idea), and store-bought corn tortilla chips to save on time. Turned out great, definitely on the spicy side tho so if you're sensitive to spice cut back on the jalepinos. Will definitely make again! Lots of flavor without using a ton of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was an interesting soup. Kind of weird compared to what we usually eat I guess? I don't know if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Good base! Substituted can of green chiles for the jalopenos, doubled the cilantro, added thinly sliced mushrooms, and shredded cabbage and carrots for a flavorful and filling meal. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Made it with leftover chicken and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Delicious!!!!!! I used two jalapenos and I think that was the right call. Everything else was used as called for in the recipe. I got the urge to top it with sour cream though it made it even better. Nice and warm/spicy broth with chunks of fresh veggies...how could you go wrong?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I found this to be very good. The lime gives this a bright, fresh flavor. I do agree that this is better with a bit more avocado. If you like the flavor of jalapeños but not the heat, try seeding them. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States