Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Absolutely fantastic. Quick, easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I'm giving this 3 stars for now, because it was wayyyy to spicy with the 4 jalapenos the recipe initially called for (and I can handle my spice). I even added another cup of chicken broth, and that didn't touch it. The soup was so spicy that I didn't even finish half a bowl, even with a dollop of sour cream on top to hopefully cool it a little. Nope. I like the ingredients in this soup though, so I hope to make it again, with 2 jalapenos at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I fell in love with chicken and lime soup while traveling in the Yucatan years ago. When I found this recipe, I fell in love all over again. This has become a staple for me, and I have developed a few variations- first, I usually double the avocado and tomato for a heartier soup; sometimes I add sour cream. For a vegetarian version I eliminate the chicken and substitute vegetable broth, and add ground cumin, corn and black beans (canned works fine, one can each, rinsed and drained). The soup is beautiful and spicy, perfect for a light summer meal with fresh garden tomatoes, or as a colorful and spicy winter treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
LOVEDD this soup! it was so easy to make on a snow day and i already had everything in the fridge to make it. it was quick and so so good! i will make this again, however, i like a little spice so i might add a couple more jalapenos. either way, it is an amazing soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I thought it might be a little strange to have hot avocado in soup, but this is absolutely delicious!! Probably the best healthy dish I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Very delicious! My family loved it. I added about a cup of leftover mexican rice for the last minute of simmering. I don't think it really added or took away from the taste, it just made it a bit more filling. With or without rice, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
We make this soup all the time and love it!! The only substitutes we use (and we do this to make it easier) is use 3/4 a can of diced tomatoes with juice rather than dicing a whole tomato, and we buy the bag of lightly salted tortilla strips rather than making our own. Also, we use 1-2 jalapenos rather than 4. I love spicy food, but 4 is even too much for me, unless you just cook them in the soup and then take them out before eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I tried this recipe with not too high of expectations since i did not think a soup with avocado could taste good. Boy was I surprised. not only was it delicious but sooooo easy. this will be made in my family for years to come. Had a wonderful kick thanks to the jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was wonderful. I did add some canned corn. And only used 2 jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
WOW !!! Great soup. Love the lime in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States