Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I love this soup and I make it all the time. I have made a vegetarian version that I thought was just as good by subbing veggie broth and beans for the chicken (if using canned beans, rinse well before adding or if using dry beans, cook fully before adding). I used a combo of black and kidney beans, because that is what I had, but it would probably be good with other types as well. I have also subbed canned tomatoes for fresh with delicious results. I just dumped the whole can (juice and all) into the pot. Finally, as many others note, this is VERY spicy. Tread lightly with the jalapenos and top with a dollop of sour cream to cut some of the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was a tasty soup. I did make a few changes to it. I added carrots and corn and that added some nice color and my husband said that fit in wonderfully. I think next time i will use a little bit less lime. I tried cooking the tortillas as sugested and I found I did not care for it. It heated up the alread hot house and I forgot about one batch and burned them. When I cook tortillas I microwave them for about 30 seconds. It helps them crisp up a lot faster. Then I put them on the stove med-hi heat and cook them both sides until they are done. It is easier if they are cut into triangles. Even though this wasn't what I was expecting from avocado soup, I will make it agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I made this recipe just as directed. It was delicious. Especially right off the fire. Spicy for the kids but a unique alternative recipe for grown folks. Sure you could thicken it if you want. To do so, I would use a butter/flour roux heated but unbrowned as my first guess. ¡Muy sabrosa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This soup was pretty good, though be sure to serve it with something hearty, as it's not very filling. From the title, we thought it would be an avocado based soup, but it isn't. It was served because our 2 dinner guests gave us a list of 8 or 9 food restrictions, and this was the recipe that was left. It was actually pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Arena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This soup is unbelievable. When I made it for a friend, she suggested I quit my job and open a soup shop! The lime (and all those jalapenos!) really makes it. I cannot wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palewinterwind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I used frozen chicken breasts, minced garlic and canned jalapenos and still this came out delicious. It had just enough spice and is surprisingly very filling. I might add another avocado next time, just for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I LOVED this soup...although I was the only one in the family that felt that way. Followed the recipe exactly and was happy that my soupless dh and kids didn't have seconds, because it was all mine! :-) The lime and cilantro were a great flavor combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This was a pretty good soup, and it was easy and quick to make. I added a little more lime juice and a few dashes of chipotle sauce (like Tabasco or Bufalo chipotle sauces) for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This soup was ok, but it didn't have any flavors that wowed me. Beware: if you don't like spicy this is not for you! My mouth burned for a long time after. Omit some or all of the jalapenos if you like less spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by killerbroccoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I was the hit this past Cinco de Mayo when I served this soup for lunch! I also topped it off with a little Cheddar cheese. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States