Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Great recipe! I have made it twice now. The first time I used the exact ingredients and blended in some extra avocado. Last night, I didn't have all the fresh ingredients on hand, so I improvised, and I think it turned out even better! Instead of fresh tomatoes and jalepenos, I used a can of RoTel tomatoes and chiles with juice. I also used bottled lime juice, and cut back on the amount just a bit. I did not blend in any avocado, just left the chunks, and we liked the broth better that way. We also used plain tortilla chips instead of browning the corn tortillas. It was a bit spicy for my four year old, so I mixed some sour cream into hers, and it was perfect. This has become a family favorite, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GATORBEK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Really good mix of flavors, and healthy too -- I doubled the avocado and mixed 2-3 cups in a blender to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
FANTASTIC This is the best soup I've ever eaten. It was too hot for my kids- I didn't care, I ate theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This is a wonderful and tasty soup. next time would cut down on the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Great recipe.I also doubled on the avocado and tomato.I also used less jalapeno.It came out so very good.It is in my file.Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I made this without the cilantro and the jalapeno peppers. I gave it 3 stars because my boyfriend loved it; I ended up eating just tortilla chips though. I guess it's just a taste preference - I thought the ingredients tasted weird together but he really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
One of the yummiest soups I've ever made!! I blended an extra avocado into the chicken broth, and added some corn as well. Will definitely make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Great soup! I omitted the jalapenos and doubled the avocado and tomato. It was terrific! The lime adds SUCH a delicious touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Very good soup. Used a little less jalepeno and a little more avocado. This is a very adaptable recipe. I also did about a 1/3 puree to thicken a bit. I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States