Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Love this recipe. Like others, I mash some avocado into the soup and blend to make a creamier soup. I put in a little less lime as well(about 3/4 of what is written), as it was too strong as written for us. Great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I am not usually a fan of soup with broth and lots of vegetables (I'm more of a creamy/cheesy soup kind of person)... but I love avocados and lime so I thought I'd give this a try. And WOW!!! This is now my number one favorite soup. I make it at least once a week, using leftover chicken, or lemon marinated chicken. Doesn't matter, it's good no matter what. It's the no fail soup. Love it, love it, love it. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
It was allright tasting, nothing special though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Everyone loves this soup and wants the recipie. I had it in Mexico and didn't think I would ever find a recipie. I double the avocados, shred the chicken and leave out the jalapenos. In Mexico they put in some kind of stringy cheese also. I can't figure out what they used. I tried mozarella but it just isn't the same. This is my new favorite soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I made this soup as the recipe is written, and I liked the lime kick, but I just wasn't crazy for this soup at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This soup is fantastic! I doubled the cilantro since my husband and I are both big fans of this herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is a great soup - I've made it many times and it is always requested by friends and family. One of my favorite substitutions is to add 6 - 10 tomatillos for the lime juice. It gives it a different kind of tart - very rich and yummy. I usually start them in the chicken stock first and then add everything else. I usually garnish with tortilla chips, cheese, and maybe a dollop of sour cream or salsa. You won't be sorry to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I love this recipe. I usually leave off the avocados because certain family members dislike them. But it tastes great even without the avacados. I like to top it with some quesadilla cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I really liked this soup and so did my family. When I make it now, I make more broth and and a can of corn and a can of black beans if I am making it for a meal. If it is for a starter, then I leave the recipe alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawkins, Texas, USA
Living In: Holly Lake Ranch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was delicious and even better the next day. I halved the jalapeno for this recipe since so many thought it was extra spicy. I used crushed tortillia chips and a little shredded cheese in the bottom of each coup bowl. I ate this every day for a week for lunch and ended up losing 3 pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Radde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States