Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
me, my husband ,and kids ages 5 &7 absolutely loved it. the ONLY adjustment was adding a couple of dashes of garlic powder and a pich of cayenne pepper. it was awesome. thanks for sharing!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was good but not great. I love all of the ingredients, so I thought this would be really delicious. It seemed like something was missing, though. Or maybe the proportions were off. I'm not sorry I made it, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
very fresh tasting, quite good. we did add more jalapenos to suit our tastes. served with sour cream and lime wedges and garnished with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This soup is awesome and really easy to make. I used half a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles instead of the fresh tomato and jalepenos. I also seved it with Lime Tostitos instead of making the others. Everyone loved it. Thanks! I have already made it twice since this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I got creative, I added cheese to the tortilla chips and then baked them. I also cut up litte squares of montery jack at the end and add them to the hot soup right before serving. I also used red onion, a little extra lime. I made for 6 it suggested 1 1/12 avocado? I used 3. Entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This soup was very good. I didn't have any fresh jalapenos so I just used the pickled ones and I put too many in so it was very spicy, but still good. Next time, I will only put a few. Also, I wasn't paying attention and cooked my chicken first before I put it in and then realized I was supposed to cook the chicken in the broth! It still turned out great! It tastes just like the tortilla soup at On The Border. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
A very, very good soup!! I used a little less avocado, and a bit more lime, but I have absolutely no complaints!! I will be using this as my "going-out dish". Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldanelis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shuniah, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
EXCELLENT!! This was so unbelievably good and easy. I made it using bottled lime juice and canned tomato - which is not good to substitute but it was all I had on hand and it was still WONDERFUL. I will make it using all fresh ingredients next time - which will be very soon! I do need to say my three young children thought that it was too hot - so like other reviewers suggest, you may want to decrease the jalapeno peppers. My husband and I LOVED it the way it is posted. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Love this recipe. Like others, I mash some avocado into the soup and blend to make a creamier soup. I put in a little less lime as well(about 3/4 of what is written), as it was too strong as written for us. Great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I am not usually a fan of soup with broth and lots of vegetables (I'm more of a creamy/cheesy soup kind of person)... but I love avocados and lime so I thought I'd give this a try. And WOW!!! This is now my number one favorite soup. I make it at least once a week, using leftover chicken, or lemon marinated chicken. Doesn't matter, it's good no matter what. It's the no fail soup. Love it, love it, love it. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States