Avocado Soup with Chicken and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I was the hit this past Cinco de Mayo when I served this soup for lunch! I also topped it off with a little Cheddar cheese. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was a good soup overall. I really liked the lime flavor that dominated. The soup was just too watery though, but I'm not a fan of broth only soups. Maybe adding some cream or something to it. I did blend a portion of the soup, but it was still just too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I really like this recipe. No one else at my house would try it, though. Anyway, the second time I made this I used 2 avocados (I LOVE avocado) pureed them -(I liked the creamy texture), and used pre-packaged fajita chicken strips for easier preparation. I also used corn chips both times. I adjusted the seasoning a little (Tony Chachere's), just to kick it up a notch because of the extra avocado. YUM!! Definitely a new comfort food for me! FOLLOW-UP: You might not want to use chicken buillion cubes for the broth. I tried that when out of canned broth and it is WAY too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Next time I would use less onion. The jalapenos I had were very large, so I only used two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Very good. Needed more flavor I think. I didn't have lime on hand. But I did add some sour cream and a little Franks Red Hot Sauce w/ Lime, and it improved it a lot. I took out 1/3 of the soup and blended it with the sour cream then added it back in to give it a creamy and chunky texture. But very good and I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Wasn't as exciting as I expected. Although it's most likely due to my adjusting the flavors to suit our needs (lemon instead of lime juice, no jalepenos, no cilantro). It was edible, just not our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Wow, this was great. Thanks for posting it. I added shredded mozzarella and used tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This is my absolute favorite soup recipe ever! Exactly as written. We have made it several times now and I love the layers of flavor. I do seed and devein the jalepeno so my children can handle it, but this is a fantastic recipe! Definitely a family favorite and often requested. Thank you so much, Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Tasty, although I felt it was missing a little something. I tend to like my soups a bit chunkier. Maybe next time I will add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Wow, this soup was super yummy. My husband and I both loved it - we might cut back just a touch on the lime next time, but not much. It really does give a good flavor! And it's a nice, quick recipe, so that's really helpful on a busy night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States