Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Delicious soup, so light! I pureed it as well, such a simple and quick recipe to use up avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Since I had to cook my shrimp, I reserved the resulting broth and used it instead of the chicken stock. I used lime juice instead of lemon. Since my avocados were really firm I puréed most of them with the milk and broth then added back the rest of the avocado and chopped shrimp. I added a bit of cayenne as it simmered. This is very rich and tastes decadent, but actually quite healthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Not bad once I added another avocado, added some seasoning, served it on bruschetta bread with sauteed shrimp and topped it off with lump crabmeat. Excellent appetizer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this as written except I pureed the whole thing as other reviewers suggested. I used whole milk and 10 oz avocado. The next time I make it I might puree the half pound of shrimp and then add another half pound that isn't pureed. I definitely did NOT get 12 servings. I got 8 EXTREMELY small bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Really tasty.. I tried it both hot and cold and I prefer it hot.. will made this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Unexpected, but delicious! And low (no) carb! Perfect for me - I'm insulin resistant. Thank you so much - so easy & will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is a creamy, deliightful soup that I can see myself making again - repeatedly. I did make a few small adjustments - added a bit of garlic salt, switched some of the milk for cream, and pureed the soup with an immersion blender before adding the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
i tried this soup today, :(, not as i expected. i think i won't add lemon juice next time. this time, i added lemon juice and it was bitter when it got cold. no one can eat more than a bowl :(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Used 4 avocados, sauteed onions with one whole jalapeno and one serrano, diced small, then added 1/2 t cumin and the broth and the milk. After it came to a boil I added chopped imitation crab (on hand) and diced tomatoes. Pureed that BRIEFLY with hand blender, and served it with lemon sour cream and diced tomatoes. I did just about triple the salt and double the lemon as otherwise would have not been "bright" enough in flavor. This one is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I love avocado and shrimp together, so I was really excited to try this recipe. The bright green color was nice but the taste of the soup left much to be desired. Nobody in my family would eat a full bowl. I am only giving it two stars, because it may have potential as a cold soup. Warm, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States