Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I pureed all the ingredients before cooking. This was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I really loved this recipe but I added more ground black pepper and red pepper. It gave it just the kick it needed. I would suggest purple onion over white or yellow and make sure to puree the avocado and chop the shrimp for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Its green colour makes it a very exciting and unconventional soup. I used crab flakes and a sprig of parsley to garnish. I also used a handblender an pureed the shrimp/avocado mixture in the pot while cooking, until smooth and you can't see anymore shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This looks good; haven't tried it, yet, but i'd like to note, that, the avocado in a soup can add some bitterness to it; i have a wonderful avocado soup, and sometimes it has a bitter taste to it; couldn't discern if it's because of the avocado itself, or the cooking, which brought it. When it's w/o this bitterness, it's simply delicious. I'll try this one, cause i love the mix (shrimps & avocado). Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
We liked this a lot. Even my guests who don't like avacado liked this, and were surprised to learn it is "avacado soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryann
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was a very delicious soup. I made some changes to it though. I added about 2 tsp minced garlic, used ground cayenne pepper instead of black, squeezed a lime as well as using 2 tsp lemon juice to it, used 1 tsp curry powder. AND I added a shot of clear tequila (no preference to clear, just what was on hand). And I used about 1/2 cup diced onion. I added all ingredients excluding milk, to blender and pureed until smooth and silky. I then transferred to a pot, mixed in the milk and heated it. It was DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for the recipe. I was very glad I used it as a base bcuz with my tweeking it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This combination of shrimp and avocado was great! I used uncooked shrimp instead and incorporated some S. TX necessities. I cooked whole shrimp in the chicken broth along with diced onion, garlic, celery, red pepper and 1 habanero pepper (seeded). I removed the shrimp when cooked and set aside and diced. I then added the whole milk and brought the temp up slowly cooking the the veggies. I then added the diced avocado (more than called for) and shrimp and used the stand up hand mixer in the pot itself to puree about half of the ingredients. I added in the following spices along the way: Salt, Pepper, Old Bay Seasoning and Cumin to taste. I also added in a dollop of sour cream and minced cilantro to the bowls. Yummy!!! Boyfriend was dubious of the combination but LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
WONDERFUL! Like other reviewers, I used a hand blender to puree all the incredients in the pot. I added extra onion and lemon juice. It had an incredible flavor and texture. My guests couldn't get enough. I will definitely make this again! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I pick the recipes, my husband cooks. For this one he said, "This is the best soup I've ever made". (And we've done quite a few!) Just follow the advice of others and make sure to puree the mixture. We also added a bit of seafood seasoning in addition to the salt and pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Excellent!! Both my husband and I loved it! I did add 1/8 tsp. powdered red pepper to add a bit of zip. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States