Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This combination of shrimp and avocado was great! I used uncooked shrimp instead and incorporated some S. TX necessities. I cooked whole shrimp in the chicken broth along with diced onion, garlic, celery, red pepper and 1 habanero pepper (seeded). I removed the shrimp when cooked and set aside and diced. I then added the whole milk and brought the temp up slowly cooking the the veggies. I then added the diced avocado (more than called for) and shrimp and used the stand up hand mixer in the pot itself to puree about half of the ingredients. I added in the following spices along the way: Salt, Pepper, Old Bay Seasoning and Cumin to taste. I also added in a dollop of sour cream and minced cilantro to the bowls. Yummy!!! Boyfriend was dubious of the combination but LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
A very nice soup to play with - I added 1/4 tsp of Cayenne, 1 tbsp of dried cilantro, used cream instead of milk and then pureed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Great recipe William! I added a little twist to the original recipe. I put the cut avacado,and cooked shrimp in the food processor till it became a paste and then put it in the sauce pan together. the flavor of your recipe is great! And I can't believe how fast and simple it was! Just my kind a cookin!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerry [redemption]
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Pureed instead. Added a few things and we're gonna serve it w/ a butterflied piece of grilled shrimp on top. (slow day at work so I did some playing..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry [redemption]

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Used 4 avocados, sauteed onions with one whole jalapeno and one serrano, diced small, then added 1/2 t cumin and the broth and the milk. After it came to a boil I added chopped imitation crab (on hand) and diced tomatoes. Pureed that BRIEFLY with hand blender, and served it with lemon sour cream and diced tomatoes. I did just about triple the salt and double the lemon as otherwise would have not been "bright" enough in flavor. This one is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I love avocado and shrimp together, so I was really excited to try this recipe. The bright green color was nice but the taste of the soup left much to be desired. Nobody in my family would eat a full bowl. I am only giving it two stars, because it may have potential as a cold soup. Warm, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was surprisingly good, I too used a food processor for the avocado, onion, and I used crab. I also added some cayenne pepper, and hot sauce for some kick. Hubby liked it, but kids didn't. I did and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Not very flavorful, but rich. Needs more salt and perhaps a touch of garlic. I may experiment with this one more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Its green colour makes it a very exciting and unconventional soup. I used crab flakes and a sprig of parsley to garnish. I also used a handblender an pureed the shrimp/avocado mixture in the pot while cooking, until smooth and you can't see anymore shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I added old bay, smoked paprika, cayenne pepper and some fleur de sel to smooth out the taste. I also used 1 lb of shrimp and pureed half of it into the bisque. 1/4 pound I cut into chunks and put it into the bisque. The remaining 1/4 I butterflied and grilled it, basting with cilantro oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States