Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Its green colour makes it a very exciting and unconventional soup. I used crab flakes and a sprig of parsley to garnish. I also used a handblender an pureed the shrimp/avocado mixture in the pot while cooking, until smooth and you can't see anymore shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
A very nice soup to play with - I added 1/4 tsp of Cayenne, 1 tbsp of dried cilantro, used cream instead of milk and then pureed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Great recipe William! I added a little twist to the original recipe. I put the cut avacado,and cooked shrimp in the food processor till it became a paste and then put it in the sauce pan together. the flavor of your recipe is great! And I can't believe how fast and simple it was! Just my kind a cookin!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
We liked this a lot. Even my guests who don't like avacado liked this, and were surprised to learn it is "avacado soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
A very good soup. I too, pureed the soup and it was smooth with a mild flavor - a bit like guacamole soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
I thought the soup was really bland. I will not be cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This looks good; haven't tried it, yet, but i'd like to note, that, the avocado in a soup can add some bitterness to it; i have a wonderful avocado soup, and sometimes it has a bitter taste to it; couldn't discern if it's because of the avocado itself, or the cooking, which brought it. When it's w/o this bitterness, it's simply delicious. I'll try this one, cause i love the mix (shrimps & avocado). Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
A beautiful avocado, wasted. We actually threw the pot of soup away. It had a strange, unpleasant taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Odd...there were chunks of avocado in the bisque. Bisque's are silky, not chunky. There was an overbearing flavor that stole the great taste of a bisque that sounded realllllly good. On the flipside, my friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I pureed all the ingredients before cooking. This was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States