Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I added old bay, smoked paprika, cayenne pepper and some fleur de sel to smooth out the taste. I also used 1 lb of shrimp and pureed half of it into the bisque. 1/4 pound I cut into chunks and put it into the bisque. The remaining 1/4 I butterflied and grilled it, basting with cilantro oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
It is a pretty good recipe, but I think next time I'll make it I'll do some changes to it. First, the recipe definitely requires more spices - I added Italian, basil, garlic powder and more lemon juice then the recipe called for. Second, final result had too much chicken taste - that was, in fact, the dominant taste in the meal. So, next time I'll make it, I will use vegetable broth and add more avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Overall, a very good soup. I'm always on the lookout for creamy soups that aren't loaded with butter or other thick dairy products. With a few minor adjustments, this soup fits the bill. If you're trying to make this a little bit healthier or lower cal, skim milk does work. Made as directed, I found the soup bland, so I added some fresh cilantro and old bay seasoning. I did not puree the mixture, but I mashed the avocados thoroughly before heating, and I enjoy the chunks of shrimp - gives it texture. Tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious recipe! And very original! Follow the recipe as read and add to your taste. I recommend extra cilantro and garlic, but that's just me. ( : If serving for a party recommend such garnishings on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I'm not sure what happened to this dish for me, but it was really bitter when it was done. I was so excited to have a creative use to avocados, but this just didn't taste good. I'm giving it two stars becauses I'm pretty sure it was something I did wrong preparing it (any ideas?) but this was not good at all when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was surprisingly good, I too used a food processor for the avocado, onion, and I used crab. I also added some cayenne pepper, and hot sauce for some kick. Hubby liked it, but kids didn't. I did and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerry [redemption]
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Pureed instead. Added a few things and we're gonna serve it w/ a butterflied piece of grilled shrimp on top. (slow day at work so I did some playing..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry [redemption]

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I wont make this again. I followed the advice of other reviews are pureed the avocado and the shrimp in my food processor...I think this was a mistake. I couldnt taste the shrimp at all! It would have been better off left in chunks...same goes for the avocado. I loooove avocado but I felt like both the shrimp and avo were wasted. I also didnt have any lemon juice on hand so ommited that. Also, it came out very thin and runny so as an attempt to thicken it up I tossed in some left over mashed potatoes I had in the fridge. This helped with the consistancy but maybe it was my fault. It probably tastes much better left alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Very good, althought the number of servings is way off. I scaled this recipe down to 4, and it MIGHT have made 2 servings, if they were small. As it was it was a big bowl just for me! I added cayenne to it for a little kick, and I mashed the avacado before putting it in, but everything else stayed the same. Very good, thank you for a quick, easy, and delicious lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I really loved this recipe but I added more ground black pepper and red pepper. It gave it just the kick it needed. I would suggest purple onion over white or yellow and make sure to puree the avocado and chop the shrimp for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States