Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I added old bay, smoked paprika, cayenne pepper and some fleur de sel to smooth out the taste. I also used 1 lb of shrimp and pureed half of it into the bisque. 1/4 pound I cut into chunks and put it into the bisque. The remaining 1/4 I butterflied and grilled it, basting with cilantro oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
It is a pretty good recipe, but I think next time I'll make it I'll do some changes to it. First, the recipe definitely requires more spices - I added Italian, basil, garlic powder and more lemon juice then the recipe called for. Second, final result had too much chicken taste - that was, in fact, the dominant taste in the meal. So, next time I'll make it, I will use vegetable broth and add more avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Overall, a very good soup. I'm always on the lookout for creamy soups that aren't loaded with butter or other thick dairy products. With a few minor adjustments, this soup fits the bill. If you're trying to make this a little bit healthier or lower cal, skim milk does work. Made as directed, I found the soup bland, so I added some fresh cilantro and old bay seasoning. I did not puree the mixture, but I mashed the avocados thoroughly before heating, and I enjoy the chunks of shrimp - gives it texture. Tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious recipe! And very original! Follow the recipe as read and add to your taste. I recommend extra cilantro and garlic, but that's just me. ( : If serving for a party recommend such garnishings on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I'm not sure what happened to this dish for me, but it was really bitter when it was done. I was so excited to have a creative use to avocados, but this just didn't taste good. I'm giving it two stars becauses I'm pretty sure it was something I did wrong preparing it (any ideas?) but this was not good at all when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was surprisingly good, I too used a food processor for the avocado, onion, and I used crab. I also added some cayenne pepper, and hot sauce for some kick. Hubby liked it, but kids didn't. I did and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerry [redemption]
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Pureed instead. Added a few things and we're gonna serve it w/ a butterflied piece of grilled shrimp on top. (slow day at work so I did some playing..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry [redemption]

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I wont make this again. I followed the advice of other reviews are pureed the avocado and the shrimp in my food processor...I think this was a mistake. I couldnt taste the shrimp at all! It would have been better off left in chunks...same goes for the avocado. I loooove avocado but I felt like both the shrimp and avo were wasted. I also didnt have any lemon juice on hand so ommited that. Also, it came out very thin and runny so as an attempt to thicken it up I tossed in some left over mashed potatoes I had in the fridge. This helped with the consistancy but maybe it was my fault. It probably tastes much better left alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Very good, althought the number of servings is way off. I scaled this recipe down to 4, and it MIGHT have made 2 servings, if they were small. As it was it was a big bowl just for me! I added cayenne to it for a little kick, and I mashed the avacado before putting it in, but everything else stayed the same. Very good, thank you for a quick, easy, and delicious lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I really loved this recipe but I added more ground black pepper and red pepper. It gave it just the kick it needed. I would suggest purple onion over white or yellow and make sure to puree the avocado and chop the shrimp for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States