Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I followed the recipe with one minor change(used canned corn) and one addition (Jalapeno's!) Everyone loved it on Cinco de Mayo and requested the recipe. I will be making this for all my summer functions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
A lot of reviewers rated this recipe high but with some pretty big modifications. I made it as written and I didn't like it very much. I thought the balance of ingredients was off (too much corn for the amount of avocado) and the oregano just wasn't right for it. I would definitely follow the advice of others and use cilantro instead. I also think the addition of tomato and black beans might make it tastier. Green onions would probably be a nice substitue for the regular onion. I recommend the recipe called Black Bean And Corn Salad II on this site. I found it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Could not stop eating this salsa!! It is so good! I had this for the first time 2 years ago at a friends house. She gave me the recipe but I had lost it. I am so happy to have found it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBURKEBROOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I love this recipe! I have made it several times for family/friend parties and it is always a big hit. A few modifications that I make: 1. Use 1 can of corn instead of frozen 2. 2 avocados seem to be plenty 3. I leave out the peppers because I am not a big fan 4. My husband does not like olives, so I buy them whole and just slice them in half so he can get around them. Thank you Barbara for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I thought this was really good, but not many people ate it. I made it for Superbowl and there was a lot of other foods, so I think that might be why. I used tomatos instead of bell pepper and cilantro instead of oregano like others suggested. I also cut the oil and it was plenty. It had a nice flavor and was very appealing to the eye. The only problem I had was the avacados were too mushy and as the night went on, it started to look like chunky guacamole. I will buy much less ripe avacado's next time and use while they are still green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is so good! You won't be disappointed. If you like avocado, you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
flavorful & fresh tasting - suggest using cilantro rather than oregano - great as a side salad also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is the best stuff! I made it for an anniversary party and it was a huge hit. My family asks for it now for every event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I love this salsa - I don't even need the tortilla chips. We eat it with a bowl and spoon. I do make a few changes. I use a little less salt and add 1-2 Tbsps lime juice with the lemon juice. I also use 2 cans of corn instead of frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Young and old loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States